We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
The Heron Portico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Close to downtown, friendly staff, quiet location, clean comfortable rooms, I would stay here again. Really poor resturant unfortunatly, service is really poor and the food is tasteless, assuming you get what you ordered.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    93
    28
    12
    0
See reviews for
22
29
26
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
terang
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We arrived in Nairobi on a flight where the plane missed the run way and got bogged in the mud, so we were bussed to the terminal and waited for hours to get our luggage. The Heron Hotel was a comfortable, calm retreat from the Nairobi mayhem. Our room was comfortable and mostly quiet although there were the happy sounds of children playing and singing from the adjacent school. The staff were friendly and helpful, the meals were good. The hotel is not in the middle of the shopping or business district, but not far away however the staff recommend taking a taxi rather than walking. We did take a walk- there are no real pavements, and the traffic is horrendous! In the Heron Hotel you were sheltered in the lush treed environment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I do travel through Nairobi quite often for business and leisure.

So fare I haven’t found a better place to stay at concerning value for money, location, parking, stuff…

Positioned in quiet area of town but convenient as located on walking distance to city centre.

Recently they did major renovation on all their rooms plus added fantastic gym and sauna. Besides that they have all the facilities of modern hotel like conference centre, internet store, boutique, hair dresser, swimming pool and 2 restaurants both with garden view.

There is a safari operator located near by their reception EyesOnAfricaSafaris[dot]com, who can take care for all your safari needs from short city tours to all round East-African expeditions.

Welcome to Nairobi!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are good enough! If you prefer open plan rooms with small kitchen and leaving area t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The plus
-The hotel has obviously undergone recent renovation and my room (deluxe) was exceptionally large, clean and modern looking; included marble countertops; flatscreen tv; mini kitchen with microwave, fridge, toaster, cutlery, coffee/tea maker; large sitting area with sofa, coffee table; comfy bed; slightly small but well designed and functional bathroom.
-Location is good and relatively quiet.
-The staff were exceptionally polite and professional.
-Internet; included in room rate and was very reliable (FYI: it is wired, don't forget your ethernet cable).
-Breakfast was ok, but too safe in my opinion.

The minus
-The restaurant is the lowest point for this hotel; menu is uninspired and the food is mediocre, but VERY expensive (similar fare downtown costs about a third). Service is on the slow side.
-Location; safe neighborhood, but not much to do or see or eat within walking distance.
No AC - but overhead fan (mostly) did the job.
-Noise; I agree with a previous reviewer about some noisy guests; I also encountered a group of young noisy men on one night of my stay. The management could do better on this. The rest of my stay was very quiet though.

Left luggage - they apparently do not offer left luggage service, so please plan accordingly.

Summary; this hotel could potentially be the best value in Nairobi with some tweaking by the management. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: bring an internet cable for your laptop
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I have stayed at the Heron seven times over the past 12 months and after the last in a series of disappointments decided not again. The restaurant has not failed to disappoint every single time. Rude staff and items on the menu not available (all seven times!!!) On the second last stay, a group of very very load young americans took over the lobby and yelled at each other and laughed boomingly until two in the morning. We complained FIVE TIMES and still the manager on duty failed to quiet them down. Their noise reached up to the third floor.
The last visit to the Heron, we decided to go for a short walk and outside the hotel decided to rather take a taxi. We approached the taxi from the Focus group, whom we knew from previous trips to the airport. A mini war broke out around us because he was second in line and the taxi people outside insisted we take the first one. We stood our ground and said it is our choice who we choose and we wanted the Focus taxi because of previous good service. In Nairobi you don't get into any taxi.They started threatening each other and then it turned into a tribal word fight and we retreated back to the hotel. When I complained at the front desk, the clerk was rude and unhelpful and said it wasn't the hotel's problem. Really Heron, do you even want guests to return? Finally the main reason why I won't go back is simply the noise levels. Guests who arrive late are load, the acoustics of the front area is such that all noise is sucked up and can be heard in all the rooms. The butler helping guests with their luggage and room keys is load and everything that happens in the corridor can be heard inside the rooms. Compared to Country Lodge where there are notices everywhere asking the guests to be quiet and respectful towards other guests, the Heron really fails when it comes to guest relations. When I travel I want to sleep well and feel rested in the morning.

Room Tip: As far away from the lobby as possible. The new wing is better but noise outside the rooms late at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naestved, Denmark
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Heron Court was clean and nice. The people were nice and friendly. Rooms fine. Nothing splendid or fantastic - but nice, middle of the road, solid hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse,Yukon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed there prior to and after our safari..We enjoyed the staff who treated us well right from the small coffee shop to the dining room. Though the rooms may have been on the small side, we had all the amenities at our disposal.We enjoyed seeing the variety of people who stayed there and the ability to go for a walk not in the city or behind a walled fort. We would/will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.