We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room good, Staff rude” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Save Saved
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Heron Portico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% OFF ON JR. SUITE
Ranked #18 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Surrey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Room good, Staff rude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel. The room offered everything you would need, however we wasn’t too impressed with the service. We found the reception staff rude & unhelpful. We were leaving early the next morning & we were asking about breakfast boxes. We were sent to the restaurant who then sent us back to the reception who sent us back to the restaurant. We thought we had then booked this but in the morning no one knew what we were talking about. This is just one example & we really are not people who moan about this sort thing, it was the only time we experienced rudeness in Kenya.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    69
    25
    9
    0
See reviews for
16
26
21
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed here on our last night in Nairobi.
Check in was really slow because there was only one person in the reception and 4 other guests checking in at the same time.

Bed room and bathroom are small, but very clean, and the bed was really comfy.

We had dinner in the hotel, again service was pretty slow but the food was good.

Early morning flight out of Nairobi, no hot water in the morning. which kind of sucked. But overall not a bad place for a quick stop before or after safari. Took us around 15mins to reach the airport which was not bad.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights on business. The hotel is close to the centre of town. The room was good, very spacious with a separate seating area and a small kitchenette (sink/microwave/toaster). I had no view (unless you count the view onto the opposite corridor of rooms across a very small open space) but as I was working it didn't really matter. The bathroom is fine, there's a large shower with good water pressure. Breakfast is the usual cereal/fruit/bread buffet with eggs cooked to order. I ate dinner on a couple of nights and it was also fine, nothing fantastic. The biggest complaint I have is the extraordinarily slow service in the restaurant both at breakfast and dinner. The staff are all terribly nice and polite but if you're in a hurry I wouldn't bother ordering.
The pool looked nice although I didn't get a chance to use it. There is a sign for a gym but it seems to be under construction.
I would return on business but not on holiday. The reason I would return is primarily location followed by room size.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the lift, it pings loudly every time it opens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Went with a group for a safari so didnt choose this hotel myself. It was clean and comfortable, breakfast was not bad. It is in a leafy suburb of the city. Ok for a group trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Spent one night here while en-route to South Sudan, the hotel is located in a quiet part of Nairobi just by the Police Headquarters, staff are friendly and the rooms are a decent size with internet and Satellite TV. Bathrooms are nice with a powerful shower. I think it represents good value for money and I wish I had the chance to test the swimming pool as it looked decent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This is a very good property in Nairobi, and a great value for price. The rooms are cute, and well priced. There is a decent swimming pool, and a good lunch place. In addition, the bar is quite good. There are several business travelers here. It is well located near the Pan Afric, and safe, because across from the police.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed here for 7 nights, and was given a room on the east wing. This proved to be a quiet area, colleagues closer to the elevator were a bit disturbed by this (late night arrivals). Good beds, spotless rooms, large bathroom and decent internet made for a pleasant stay. Attentive staff, friendly and safe atmosphere was also appreciated. Breakfast was a treat, and dinners were good. Also tried the bistro one evening, which was also very good. I wouldn't know all that much about prices, but found the gift shop reasonable. Quiet area, too. A nice walk to downtown, but remember a hat and sun screen...

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Tingo, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.