We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice treat before roughing it in a camping safari” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
The Heron Portico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 124 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A nice treat before roughing it in a camping safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

After almost 24 hours traveling and landing in Nairobi, being picked up from the airport and driven straight to the Heron was a treat. Charming interiors, warm and friendly staff and very clean and comfortable rooms.

Guests were a mix of business people and tourists. The restaurant was busy during breakfast and pretty quiet by lunch time. There was also a café with a big, shiny espresso machine (too bad we didn't get a chance to give it a try).

Located in a quiet, tree-lined street, the hotel is about a 20-minute walk to downtown Nairobi.

Room Tip: We were happy with the higher floor, corner room we got overlooking the front entrance of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    88
    27
    12
    0
See reviews for
22
28
24
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The Heron is a lovely hotel and the rates are very affordable and its good value for money. the breakfast set up and what you got was disappointing but then there are so many fabulous restaurants in the vicinity that its not a problem. If you are in this area, there is a short cut to The Junction which has some great restaurants and good variety. Internet access was excellent at the hotel which is a plus when you on business. Rooms very clean and had all that you needed. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a few times over the past decade and the last time we were there, we stayed in one of their newly refurbished suites as we had the children with us.
The hotel is definately improving (not sure if there has been a change in ownership) as far as service is concerned and looking much better.
Their breakfasts are still something to be desired however at least there is a cafe which offers a different menu and massive helpings.
It would appear that the 'ladies of the night' are back to frequenting the bar in the evenings, which can be off putting for some, as they are quite direct with the male members of our party.
However on the whole, the hotel is in a good location and on the up!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Nairobi hotels are quite expensive, and thanks to my daughter's friend advice we chose this one. Very well located, a nice street with lovely trees, moderate traffic considering the chaos that Nairobi traffic is. Good breakfast, with fresh fruit and fresh juices, eggs cooked to your taste and very nice staff. The bedrooms have tea/coffee making facilities, television with foreign channels. We had a small balcony with a very pleasent view and they have a lovely very inviting swimming pool, for the summer months. The drains in the shower cubicle are slow so you have to be careful not to flood the bathroom(it is not a major issue). They have security at the gates 24 hours a day which is very reassuring. All in all a very good hotel for a business trip or a stop over from your safaris. Had a driver pick us up from airport, he is reliable and very nice and drives you around Nairobi. Edward was very helpful and always arrived on time. Please contact me if you need any information regarding him. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, if you want something better at a higher price there are other options.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the main street are nicer, at least that is what we thought
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karatu, Tanzania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel several times although this was my first time this year and I think it improves with each visit. I've decided this is my hotel of choice in Nairobi. The Heron has many of the amenities of the much higher priced hotels in the area at a lot lower price. The location is good and if you use the Impala shuttle to Arusha the bus will come collect you. The staff were very accommodating and friendly although someone at breakfast was complaining about the service, I think he was stressed out to be truthful. The standards in Africa are just not the same as in Europe or North America and I found the service quite good for East Africa. The food is absolutely fine, in the evening you can dine outside which is nice. The breakfast choices are very good, they have several healthy options. The pool looked great although I didn't use it. There's a sauna also not tried and I noticed the new coffee shop but I didn't go check it out. The front desk staff were especially helpful. The rooms are perfectly adequate. I had no complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: Be sure to bring a connection cable for your computer as the rooms do not have wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse, ny USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

when i work in kenya, i usually stay at the heron while traveling through nairobi. the staff is very friendly, and the accommodations nice. there are some problems with the plumbing (shower doesn't drain well) and i've experienced issues with the internet. the staff will do anything in their power to help you - just ask! the restaurant and cafe both offer a good selection and excellent staff. don't be in a hurry, though, as it is typical in kenya to do things slowly. pole, pole they say. there is a business center with paid internet usage (although internet is in the rooms as well), and a nice souvenir shop.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room with working internet if you want to plug in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed here for two nights and it is perfectly adequate. Its clean however we had them arrange a taxi for us from the airport and they completely overcharged us by about four times the going rate and the price of the rooms is very expensive for what you receive. If it was cheaper it would have been fine it was just very expensive for what it is. There is also a slightly eerie feel to the place and I was glad to leave it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.