We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Save Saved
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Heron Portico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% OFF ON JR. SUITE
Ranked #18 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Tanzania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great value for money in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel several times although this was my first time this year and I think it improves with each visit. I've decided this is my hotel of choice in Nairobi. The Heron has many of the amenities of the much higher priced hotels in the area at a lot lower price. The location is good and if you use the Impala shuttle to Arusha the bus will come collect you. The staff were very accommodating and friendly although someone at breakfast was complaining about the service, I think he was stressed out to be truthful. The standards in Africa are just not the same as in Europe or North America and I found the service quite good for East Africa. The food is absolutely fine, in the evening you can dine outside which is nice. The breakfast choices are very good, they have several healthy options. The pool looked great although I didn't use it. There's a sauna also not tried and I noticed the new coffee shop but I didn't go check it out. The front desk staff were especially helpful. The rooms are perfectly adequate. I had no complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: Be sure to bring a connection cable for your computer as the rooms do not have wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    68
    24
    9
    0
See reviews for
16
24
21
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
syracuse, ny USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

when i work in kenya, i usually stay at the heron while traveling through nairobi. the staff is very friendly, and the accommodations nice. there are some problems with the plumbing (shower doesn't drain well) and i've experienced issues with the internet. the staff will do anything in their power to help you - just ask! the restaurant and cafe both offer a good selection and excellent staff. don't be in a hurry, though, as it is typical in kenya to do things slowly. pole, pole they say. there is a business center with paid internet usage (although internet is in the rooms as well), and a nice souvenir shop.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room with working internet if you want to plug in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed here for two nights and it is perfectly adequate. Its clean however we had them arrange a taxi for us from the airport and they completely overcharged us by about four times the going rate and the price of the rooms is very expensive for what you receive. If it was cheaper it would have been fine it was just very expensive for what it is. There is also a slightly eerie feel to the place and I was glad to leave it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This is a charming hotel with the friendliest staff. The rooms are extremely clean and tidy, the restaurant's food is delicious and the location is perfect. Security is also great. Thanks Steve for keeping it under control.
We thank you all for a pleasant stay. This will be my home away from home every time I'm in Nairobi. Dominic, thanks for keeping your eye out on the boys lol

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We flew and stayed here on the first leg of a longer trip. Most importantly, we wanted something that was cheap and OK and it was cheap and much better than OK. I've not stayed in anything really upscale in Africa so maybe I'm unduly pessimistic, about what a high-end place might deliver but the Heron was great. Good response to email enquiry, efficient pick-up at the airport and nice restaurant and good place to acclimatise. On a non-hotel note, remember Nairobi is at altitude so it was surprisingly cold in July. If you are arriving and want something safe and reasonable, this is it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Rooms a bit on the small side and noisy, but clean. Facilities were good and staff were very helpful. Restaurant a bit on the expensive side for Nairobi but food was tasty.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at The Heron (Court) Hotel on our way back from The Mara on route to Mombasa. The hotel was KSH11,000 per double room. We had 3 double rooms between us.
The restaurant was average. There were may items on the menu, but when ordering, much was not available for dinner. Breakfast was good, with lots of variety.
We did not find the staff as friendly or accomodating as we had experienced elsewhere on our 2 week trip. Staff in the coffee shop were much more friendly.
The rooms were clean and well equipped. We had adjoining rooms that had connecting doors which was grreat as we had kids with us.
Unfortunately, the boiler broke on the evening we arrived. We did not have hot water for the duration of our stay. The hotel would not negotiate a discount, but did agree to give us one of our 3 rooms as a late check out room for free. This would have typically been an additional 50%. We had to personally see the manager to arrange this though.
Good location, no A/C or wifi. Safe area, good taxi services. Good facilities. Coffee shop, gift shop, restaurant, business centre and swimming pool on site. Would consider staying here again when in Nairobi. On average good value for money but showing its age.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.