We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Value for Money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
The Heron Portico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 131 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Poor Value for Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed here for two nights and it is perfectly adequate. Its clean however we had them arrange a taxi for us from the airport and they completely overcharged us by about four times the going rate and the price of the rooms is very expensive for what you receive. If it was cheaper it would have been fine it was just very expensive for what it is. There is also a slightly eerie feel to the place and I was glad to leave it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    97
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
22
30
29
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This is a charming hotel with the friendliest staff. The rooms are extremely clean and tidy, the restaurant's food is delicious and the location is perfect. Security is also great. Thanks Steve for keeping it under control.
We thank you all for a pleasant stay. This will be my home away from home every time I'm in Nairobi. Dominic, thanks for keeping your eye out on the boys lol

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We flew and stayed here on the first leg of a longer trip. Most importantly, we wanted something that was cheap and OK and it was cheap and much better than OK. I've not stayed in anything really upscale in Africa so maybe I'm unduly pessimistic, about what a high-end place might deliver but the Heron was great. Good response to email enquiry, efficient pick-up at the airport and nice restaurant and good place to acclimatise. On a non-hotel note, remember Nairobi is at altitude so it was surprisingly cold in July. If you are arriving and want something safe and reasonable, this is it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Rooms a bit on the small side and noisy, but clean. Facilities were good and staff were very helpful. Restaurant a bit on the expensive side for Nairobi but food was tasty.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at The Heron (Court) Hotel on our way back from The Mara on route to Mombasa. The hotel was KSH11,000 per double room. We had 3 double rooms between us.
The restaurant was average. There were may items on the menu, but when ordering, much was not available for dinner. Breakfast was good, with lots of variety.
We did not find the staff as friendly or accomodating as we had experienced elsewhere on our 2 week trip. Staff in the coffee shop were much more friendly.
The rooms were clean and well equipped. We had adjoining rooms that had connecting doors which was grreat as we had kids with us.
Unfortunately, the boiler broke on the evening we arrived. We did not have hot water for the duration of our stay. The hotel would not negotiate a discount, but did agree to give us one of our 3 rooms as a late check out room for free. This would have typically been an additional 50%. We had to personally see the manager to arrange this though.
Good location, no A/C or wifi. Safe area, good taxi services. Good facilities. Coffee shop, gift shop, restaurant, business centre and swimming pool on site. Would consider staying here again when in Nairobi. On average good value for money but showing its age.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I stayed here for 4 night. 2 nights before our Safari and 2 nights after. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the decor is lovely - a very african feel with all wood furniture.

The hotel has a restaurant, a snack bar and a pool area. The breakfast included in the price is great with lots of choice.

There is 24 hour staff and the hotel has security gates with security staff who are there all day and night.

I would definitly recommend you stay here, it is a 10minute walk from the city but this hotel is very laid back and relaxed.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The Heron is immaculately clean, the rooms are great. We stayed in the Superior and the Duluxe...I would definitley recommend paying the extra 2000KSH for a Duluxe room, it has a sitting area aswell as kitchen with microwave, kettle and toaster.

The hotel has a lovely pool area, aswell as a friendly relaxed cafe/snack bar and then the main restaurant. The food and drink is good value for money.

There is a shop in the hotel and a very cheap internet cafe.

I would definatly stay here again, the hotel is about 10 minutes walk into the city but far enough away to feel safe. The hotel has 24 hour staff and security who operate the gates at the front of the hotel.

If I had to say anything negative about the heron it would be that the staff are a little bit slow especially during breakfast times in the restaurant...apart from that I loved this place.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.2 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#17 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#10 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bidwood Suite Hotel
Bidwood Suite Hotel
#6 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.