We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Gardens Hotel

Save Saved
You added Olive Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olive Gardens Hotel
Argwings Kodhek Road | Hurlingham, Nairobi, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
“This hotel is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I checked in at Olive Gardens Hotel on 19th October 2013 with a colleague. We honestly expected the worst and we only came here because the hotel we were booked earlier somehow sold our rooms. To say the least, i was pleasantly surprised by the services at Olive Gardens Hotel. They have refurbished the rooms and the lobby looks really nice. The food was great and the staff were quite professional. My only disappointment was the view from all the rooms wasn't not pleasant at all. Maybe the hotel should speak with the neighbors to clean up the yard next door..it really looks like a junkie! Otherwise good job! We shall come again.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are currently the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive G, at Olive Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Lilykijo,

Thank you very much for the comments and compliments, they are well noted. The hotel is now under new management and we endeavor to offer our guests the best. We look forward to host you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    5
    7
    4
See reviews for
2
2
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

For a hotel located in such a convenient location I honestly expected more! I stayed at the hotel for 6 days while attending a workshop at the same venue. After checking in, the receptionist offered me a welcome drink, it was mango juice that had been in a jug by her desk area. I politely declined, unsure of how long it had been kept there. The rooms are very basic and not worth the cost pegged to them. The breakfast menu is basic; bread, sausage and egg with a pancake suprise once in a while. The variety offered depends on the number of guests at the hotel, therefore more guests, the variety slightly improves. Most of what was offered during breakfast was offered during the 10am and 4pm tea time breaks. The restaurant menu is very alluring in writing, however what is served is below par. I ordered vegetable curry one night for dinner and what I got was a combination of vegetables that had been served during the lunch hour. There is need for improvement. For the conference facilities, they do not have facilities for big groups. Also the staff need to be reminded to clean the conference hall every morning, otherwise you find it as untidy as it was the previous evening. My worst experience was getting back to my room and finding my bathroom had been used by someone, and the toilet left in a mess. This was beyond!!! I would not want to stay at this hotel again and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Poorly managed, Smelly stinky hotel rooms inspite of the type of the rooms, clueless staff, carpets stink, food was disastrous, slow wifi, it was altogether horrible. I will never ever again go back again!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have lodged in olive garden hotel several times because my company office in Nairobi put us there when we went several times in 2010 and 2011 for meetings. All my observations from the very first day we lodged there turned out to be true.

The olive garden Nairobi hotel is well located but very poorly managed, the front office staff are quite daft, they have stern looking security men positioned at the entrance of the hotel, despite the fact that they are near useless in stopping any slightly intelligent crime ( as we have already experienced).

On my last visit to olive garden hotel in Nairobi, which was at 1.20am on te 2nd of July 2012, I arrived after communicating with them through a tourist company at the airport, they clearly confirmed the room types and prices available, and i made my decision to choose a single room, especially as i was on transit and needed to be back at the airport by 6 am, which meant I would leave the hotel at 5.30am at the very latest ( A 4 hour visit basically).

I was shocked to arrive and they pretended try never got any call from the tourist company, a call that was made with me standing right there. Secondly, try quickly claimed single rooms were not available, and after some banter, they allocated me a superior double room against my wish for a four hour stay. I went to a bar next door and had a light snack and a drink to cool off from the long journey, only to arrive back at the hotel at 3 am to catch a two hour sleep, and I was stopped at the reception and told that the price for the room had changed while i was out. It changed from $97 to $ 115 . I obliged them, knowing that I needed to get some rest and consider this a bad dream.

At 5.30am when I was checking out to catch my flight I was stopped again and told that the additional $15 notes I gave them acouple of hours ago were a 1998 US dollar note and that was not acceptable to them. I will leave to your imagination the kind of argument that took place before they called a manager who said it was OK.

Note that approximately 6 months before this incident, I lodged in the same hotel with a business partner and her computer was stolen from her room, including her wallet and other personal valuables, all these happened in brad day light, with the same stern looking security men standing at the entrance. When we reported to the management, we discovered that another guest was also robbed at the same time in the same hotel. We reported to the police and they clearly told us they were tired of this constant reports of robbery in that particular hotel. The police followed us to the hotel to carry out an investigation, for which we have not heard anything about till today.

The fear of olive garden hotel in Nairobi is the beginning of wisdom. Guests beware.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

This USED to be a charming hotel with good staff and floor supervisors. Not anymore. The cashiers are thieves. The food; if you can call it food is non-existent. There is mold in the rooms. The televisions don't work. Internet/Wireless down most of the time. Leaks on the second level. The carpet is ghastly; dirty, smelly and who knows when it was cleaned if ever. The towels have holes as well as the sheets. There is no water pressure and many times the water was not hot.

Mind you there are a handful of good staff; but the management and ownership has wanned to the poor side.

This is not a place to bring your family or business partners. Most embarrasing to bring any business clients to this hotel.

Don't pay in advance and ALWAYS check your credit card statement and your receipt as well as your change when making any payments.

Room Tip: There are none; no heat; windows have no insulation either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I am through with my honeymoon trip, which i organised with Adventure Panorama Safaris, in Kenya. Well, the trip was abit costly but all the same it was worth it!! I got to enjoy every bit of it. Many animals, alot of food, good guide and a honest consultant, Nickson Ogilo.

Prior to my trip to Masai Mara, pour accommodation was in Olive Garden hotel, very clean, quite, comfortable and listening staff.

I really liked it...and appreciate it alot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I wanted to book guests at this hotel for an upcoming conference but the reviews I have read are over 90% negative. I will book them at another hotel as I cant afford to have my visitors end up making such comments as below. Gone is the accommodation, conference fees etc. I hope the management is reading and responding to customers' complains. The hotel is well positioned due to its location but this will not sell if the service levels are low. There are a number of hotels to learn from.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olive Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Gardens Hotel

Address: Argwings Kodhek Road | Hurlingham, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olive Gardens Hotel is an elegant boutique hotel located in Hurlingham, one of the prime districts in Nairobi. This location is only 30 minutes from Nairobi's Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 7 minutes from the city centre and amidst major shopping centers and entertainment venues. From Olive Gardens, guests can easily access any part of Nairobi thus making us a perfect location for both business and leisure travelers. At Olive Gardens, we offer you quality service and personalized attendance. We have 61 comfortable and luxurious rooms offering you upscale comforts and conveniences such as wifi, TV's with premium entertainment channels and mini bars in the suites. For conferencing, we have spacious conference rooms fully equipped with latest conference equipments. The hotel offers a wide range of culinary delights that will tantalize your taste buds at our restaurant with an affordable a la carte menu and a buffet for large groups. Our cozy bar offers the perfect venue to unwind and catch-up on the latest news with friends. We have free WIFI internet in all areas at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Olive Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.