We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Animal Orphanage Nairobi National Park” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage

Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage
| 00200, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 43 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Educational Sites, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Animal Orphanage Nairobi National Park”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This might have been the most disappointing and upsetting attraction in Nairobi. Having been on a roll visiting all animal centres in Nairobi, we stopped at the orphanage on our way to the Nairobi National Park. This place is indeed nothing compared to the David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage, and is more comparable to a brutal looking zoo. The animals here have all been rescued as cubs, and have been kept in fences areas since. Upon entrance, we were required to pay 25 usd per person to enter (compared to the 250KSH for residents !). The woman selling the tickets was very unfriendly. Once we paid the highly overpriced entrance, we entered the "orphanage". It looks like an old zoo, where the animals are all in small fenced areas. There is no information available about these animals, making them no different from zoo animals. Also, there are no real guides to help you around, such as in Mamba Village. Halfway through the park we encountered two staff members who decided to accompany us. Even though it was meant friendly, they would provoke the animals for us so we could take "nice pictures". Very unethical...
Also, similarly to Mamba Village, these staff members provoked crocodiles by poking them with sticks. Horrible to see. In conclusion it was upsetting to see this animal orphanage. Please do not expect it to be anywhere near the Elephant orphanage, and reconsider a visit!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    15
    12
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Padstow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Close it down.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Do not confuse this abomination with the wonderful Sheldrick elephant orphanage. I was here at the time of its inception and it was the most amazing place in Kenya. I have never forgotten the emotions I felt over the sad histories of the wonderful orphans and the plans for their rehabilitation - babies weighing from a few ounces to almost a ton - all on their way back to the wild. What a disappointment! Almost every animal was under sentence of solitary confinement for life, without remission! I detest zoos, and accept NO justification from any that they have ANY role in replenishing diminished stocks in the wild. The cost of releasing animals into the wild is prohibitive - see the film "Born Free." Ask the Sheldrick Foundation. There was even a wild dog in solitary confinement that spends every waking moment running distractedly on three legs to and fro along a deep-worn track along the furthest fence from the viewing area. His prognosis - never to be released. Just like the aged wart hog who lost his wife a year ago and one of his tusks more recently. If you want a good cry - this is the place to go. The people who operate this concentratio0n camp would be kinder to shoot all the animals and chop them up for pet food. DON'T GO THERE.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing, delightful, fantastic.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I visited the Animal Orphanage in January with 2 colleague. The staff were friendly, and extremely knowledgeable about the various animals. It was great to be able to see so many animals that I would not usually see in my home country of Trinidad and Tobago. The best experience, however, was being able to interact directly with the monkeys which roamed the property freely. We were able to feed them and they climbed up on the chairs next to us. I loved it. The gift shop is also quite affordable with prices comparable to the markets downtown. It was also useful to be able to use a credit card, which is not common in the shops throughout Nairobi. Overall, I'd love to visit again or be able to adopt an animal in the future. I would encourage anyone to visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Delightful experience but so sad to see so many orphaned animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This place is not to be missed. We went along just about the time the little baby elephants were to be fed. To see the boisterous little jumbos jostle each other to reach the muddy water hole and wallow about enjoying their playtime was hugely enoyable. Soon the "jumbo' milk bottles were brought out by the staff and there was mayhem as they all crowed eagerly around the staff. The milk made us realise how young they were as one of the staff told us the sad stories of how the elephants had been orphaned and the poor state in which they had arrived at the centre.. One cannot understand the poachers that kill these beautiful animals and their mothers for their tusks. After the little "jumbos" left the amusing warthogs took over and just wallowed playfully in the muddy water hole. We had a added bonus when a little baby rhino charged into the area and proceeded to playfully tussle with the staff and charged up and down the ranks of tourists standing around it all the time being bathed in dust and mud as its skin is prone to get sun burnt. The cute minature sausage of a rhino had an equally sad story associated with it being orphaned. We also went around the centre reading about the work they do and also visited a sad lonely adult blind rhino that had been rescued because it would not have lasted long in the wild. Left with mixed feelings of exhilaration at being so close to these lovely and boisterous "kids" but sad about their stories on how they happened to be at the centre. Humans really can be so cruel.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“UNEXCITING”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was a disappointment after exciting National Park and Safaris. The number of animals is too small and the visitor is generally surprised by the sudden end of the tour. The animals are well maintained but the varieties available too little. The entry fee is USD 15 but the exchange rates offered are far above the official rates (possibly to attract more Foreign Exchange) and iot is preferable to pay in USD rather than KES if you are a foreigner.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.