We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful experience but so sad to see so many orphaned animals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage

Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage
| 00200, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 43 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Educational Sites
Attraction Details
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Delightful experience but so sad to see so many orphaned animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This place is not to be missed. We went along just about the time the little baby elephants were to be fed. To see the boisterous little jumbos jostle each other to reach the muddy water hole and wallow about enjoying their playtime was hugely enoyable. Soon the "jumbo' milk bottles were brought out by the staff and there was mayhem as they all crowed eagerly around the staff. The milk made us realise how young they were as one of the staff told us the sad stories of how the elephants had been orphaned and the poor state in which they had arrived at the centre.. One cannot understand the poachers that kill these beautiful animals and their mothers for their tusks. After the little "jumbos" left the amusing warthogs took over and just wallowed playfully in the muddy water hole. We had a added bonus when a little baby rhino charged into the area and proceeded to playfully tussle with the staff and charged up and down the ranks of tourists standing around it all the time being bathed in dust and mud as its skin is prone to get sun burnt. The cute minature sausage of a rhino had an equally sad story associated with it being orphaned. We also went around the centre reading about the work they do and also visited a sad lonely adult blind rhino that had been rescued because it would not have lasted long in the wild. Left with mixed feelings of exhilaration at being so close to these lovely and boisterous "kids" but sad about their stories on how they happened to be at the centre. Humans really can be so cruel.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    15
    12
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cochin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“UNEXCITING”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was a disappointment after exciting National Park and Safaris. The number of animals is too small and the visitor is generally surprised by the sudden end of the tour. The animals are well maintained but the varieties available too little. The entry fee is USD 15 but the exchange rates offered are far above the official rates (possibly to attract more Foreign Exchange) and iot is preferable to pay in USD rather than KES if you are a foreigner.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is NOT a sanctuary, but a small, unkept zoo and it tortured me to see how the animals were kept. We had two zoo keepers harass the animals to give photo opportunities. Disgusting. I only went because I thought it was an actual sanctuary, as I don't support zoos. Do not go and support it. It will only break your heart.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent but could use some help”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I enjoyed my trip to this park. I saw cheetahs, tigers, and many more native African animals. The close proximity to downtown Nairobi gives this park a surreal feeling when looking from the park across the vast open plains at the city skyline. Like most things in Africa, this park could use a little help. Resources are scarce for people, so it's no surprise this park lacks needed funds. Still, it is worth a visit. I've seen parks/zoos in the USA that aren't any better.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Disturbing.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

If animals cooped up in tiny pens pacing up and down and then angered by the keepers to provide photo opportunities for tourists is your thing, then great. Oh, and don't forget those keepers will want a tip for agitating the animals.

This is a zoo, a very poor zoo at that - very disheartening to visit. And it galls me to say that you shouldn't patronise this venue as I'm sure some of the money goes to the animals, but you are better off taking your US$15 elsewhere where it can be put to better use, and not to fund this sham of a zoo.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.