We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hasn't changed since the 1990's!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage

Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage
| 00200, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 86 things to do in Nairobi
Attraction details
Nairobi
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hasn't changed since the 1990's!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Was there yesterday since the 1990's and nothing has changed!! infact its more run down now! There are some cages with nothing in it and its one or 2 animals in a small cage. The walking path is dusty and broken up and the seating area is soo bad, the rungs are off, rusted and not safe for kids to play around. Poor looking cages and the animals look so aggitated- pacing up and down all day long. There are no guides around and unfortunately some visitors take advantage and throw things into the cages.
There's a section with animal horns/skulls that is so badly kept, some items have missing horns, no labels and they are kept on the floor- good luck trying to learn something! Lets not even go to the status of the terrible bathrooms!!
This is such a gold mine for Kenya, if only it is well maintained. Please, save your money and go for a real safari. Otherwise, go to the elephant sanctuary and giraffe center for a better experience! A real shame KWS!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    17
    14
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 attraction reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“almost better than safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Located at the same gate as National perk, offers you to see some of animals close, walking of course. According some of ours review I expected terrible conditions where are the animals. Picture is much better than I expected, even they build up new washroom and toilets. Animals are in good condition and looks happy to me. Spaces where they are living are maintained, grass is catted, clean. Guardian who escort us (for tip, of course) communicate with them, and according his story, part for babies are now empty, but any way is forbidden to access there. Monkey from outside world are trying to enter to monkey village, so it seems that they are satisfied inside cages . Lions are excellent and in better condition that ones who are living in National park. I am glad to visited such a place, not official Zoo, but you have explanation and tables with details of animals.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This is a poorly maintained zoo”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The animal orphanage is nothing but a well-branded zoo. I went there thinking that we would see humanitarian efforts in practice, but instead found animals looking close to dead in their very small cages. There were lions, leopards and other animals, in small cages. Some of them were rescued in the 1990s! Imagine being kept in a small cage for over 20 years. My dog has more of a playground than the lions. I paid 1300ksh entry fee (non-Kenyan residence fee). It took me approx 30mins to tour the entire zoo. I wish I had spent my money more wisely. Save your money Go instead to the elephant orphanage or the Giraffe Center.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelharnis Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“See the animals up close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were there at 4 in the afternoon and turns out to be feeding time which was great to watch the the cheetahs, lions, and jaguar, and the rest of the animals eating. There were some animals there that we didn't see in the rest of the park so it was good to see them up close. To bad that the animals didn't have larger areas to live in.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 attraction reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Make sure you read the signage on the plate descriptions on each animal cage to get more insights...dont just view the animals.
A perfect place to view the animals close and candid and take some snaps as well.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.