We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See for Families!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage

Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage
| 00200, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Educational Sites, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Must See for Families!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Anyone traveling to Nairobi with children should make certain that they get the chance to see the elephant orphanage. It is amazing to see the interaction between the keepers and their charges, and the trust that is engendered between them. Mature elephants have been released into the wild several hundreds of miles distant and returned to the sanctuary with their babies a year of two later, apparently wanting their human friends to help rear their young.
An amazing experience!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    15
    12
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This is a poorly maintained zoo”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The animal orphanage is nothing but a well-branded zoo. I went there thinking that we would see humanitarian efforts in practice, but instead found animals looking close to dead in their very small cages. There were lions, leopards and other animals, in small cages. Some of them were rescued in the 1990s! Imagine being kept in a small cage for over 20 years. My dog has more of a playground than the lions. I paid 1300ksh entry fee (non-Kenyan residence fee). It took me approx 30mins to tour the entire zoo. I wish I had spent my money more wisely. Save your money Go instead to the elephant orphanage or the Giraffe Center.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelharnis Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“See the animals up close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were there at 4 in the afternoon and turns out to be feeding time which was great to watch the the cheetahs, lions, and jaguar, and the rest of the animals eating. There were some animals there that we didn't see in the rest of the park so it was good to see them up close. To bad that the animals didn't have larger areas to live in.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Make sure you read the signage on the plate descriptions on each animal cage to get more insights...dont just view the animals.
A perfect place to view the animals close and candid and take some snaps as well.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at sea
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“animal heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

who can not feel sorry for animals that for some reason cannot live in the wild. the orphanage is inside the national park and if you are a resident of East Africa, its cheap....the animals are in generally good enclosures and most look happy. The cheetahs need room to run but a great place to see these cats up close.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.