We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage

Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage
| 00200, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 38 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Educational Sites, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“my experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You will have to think of if it was you what would do.I just love the babies and more so when it gets to lunch hrs when they are being fed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    15
    12
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paynesville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Animal "zoo" orphanage.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had some time to kill while in Nairobi, so we decided to check out the animal orphange. We had just come from a Safari and saw many animals up close and in there natural habitat, so it was difficult to see these wild animals caged up. Alot of them were orphan's, and most likely would not have made it in the wild, but sad all the same. It does give people an opportunity to see these animals though, and it is a nice family and school venue.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Animal Orphanage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is really a zoo. Animals end up here because they have a problem in the wild and it is great they have this refuge. For tourists it was very expensive for what it was...$20 each or something. It is inexpensive for Kenyans which is a good thing as it allows many school children to see animals they would not otherwise see. If you don't have time give it a miss.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lost to visit the significance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you are ready to go to the Masai Mara safari, you won't want to come here, they changed the rules, you can't touch the little lion and the cheetah, every person for a real touch animal who is disappointed .

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“DO NOT waste your money on this attraction!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We took our 4 year old niece to this attraction today and had the most negative experience of my time in Kenya.

Firstly, one website mentioned the feeding time as 1pm, so we rushed through traffic to get there. After we had paid, we were told it was at 2.30pm, so we wanted to take our 4 year old to the cafe to get a sandwich and come back for the feeding. As we had just paid (over $50USD for 3 adults and a child, I might add) they refused to let us leave and come back - even though we had not began our journey into the park. After some discussion on the (lack of) logic of this, we asked to speak to a manager. We then waited 10 minutes to be told the manager refused to come and speak to us. Having paid the money, we decided to at least walk around before leaving to feed our child. This unreasonable policy made it an incredible waste of time and money for us and reduced the enjoyment factor of our whole day out.

After deciding to wait until 2.30 for the feeding, we were disappointed to then be told (by the same staff who had told us the feeding would be at 2.30pm that the feeding would happen by 3pm or later). We then left, hot, hungry, and disappointed with the experience.

The attraction itself is also a bit depressing. Most of the animals are in dilapidated cages with little room to move around, even the big cats. One cheetah was pacing 4 meters and turning and pacing over and over and we all found it quite distressing. Although this animal was orphaned, there was nothing physically wrong with it, and there seems no reason that most of the animals should not be rehabilitated into the wild. The toilet facility was also disgusting, essentially it was a whole in the ground, laced with faeces around the rim, no toilet paper, and no soap for hand washing.

Finally, I make the point that the staff - particularly the uniformed KWS staff were incredibly rude to us as a family. The door staff lacked any form of customer service and it was very difficult to get clear information from anyone. We do not recommend anyone waste their time, energy, or money visiting this attraction.

The elephant orphanage (just down the road) is a far superior place and there at least they help the animals back into the wild.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.