We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A zoo nothing more” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage

Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage
| 00200, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 38 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Educational Sites, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A zoo nothing more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The animals are all in small cages and there is little if no information about why they were there and what was happening to them. The only upside was that we did see a Zedonk (Zebra crossed with a Donkey). If you see the giraffe center and the Sheldrake Elephant orphange this will be a big disappointment.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    15
    12
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“More of a zoo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This place is great if you want to see all the big cats. However, they are in pretty small cages (for their size) and we received no information about how these animals are actually reintegrated into the wild (if they are). Some did look injured, but alot of them looked perfectly healthy (so i guess they are feeding them the right amount and the right kind of food) so was wondering why they were still in captivity...

Best time to see the cats active is 2.30pm-4pm when they are fed.

The herbivores are also caged right next to the carnivores which seems a bit unnatural!!

Also, NASTY bathroom, so definitely go at the hotel before you get here!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Amazing work done by the foundation to protect the elephants from poaching. A must see in Nairobi.
We were given really interesting facts about the elephants. IT only last 1 hour but this enough to see them drink their bottles, play in the mood or football with the rangers and take amazing pictures!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hanover, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Yes, it is somewhat like a zoo but it was a good opportunity to get very close to the animals. a young man approached us at the entrance and offered to guide us--no charge. He worked for the park, what we would call a docent. He was a university grad, obviously knew a lot of biology and the names and histories of each of the animals. (Indeed no charge, but he accepted a tip.) The animals here are rescues. I did not perceive poor conditions as reported by other reviewers. One of the values of places like this is instilling respect for wildlife and values in favor of animal conservation in young people. We saw many school groups visiting the day we were there. If even a few of those kids might otherwise have grown up to be poachers, the place serves a good purpose. The gift shop is great and had prices more reasonable than most places.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Do not visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I'm afraid this place made me so angry on a recent visit in April. The animals are in cages that are far too small and there is OBVIOUSLY no attempt to re-integrate the animals to the wild even though the national park is next door. The Orphanage has recently taken in 3 orphaned Cheetah cubs and already one is dead. They have been secretly filmed swinging the cubs around by their tails. Definitely give this one a miss and spend you money by visiting the absolutely wonderful Sheldrickm Elephant Orphanage.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Education Centre - Animal Orphanage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.