We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting site but small....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Snake Park

Snake Park
Museum Hill, Nairobi, Kenya
254-20-3742131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting site but small....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

There were a wide variety of interesting snakes as well as alligators and turtles....

All were on display and were visible, but the glass of the enclosures was badly marred which affected clear viewing of many of the snakes.... The courtyard was amazing and the closer you looked the more snakes you could spot climbing around in the vegetation!

There is also a garden attached to this tour which shows all the different variety of vegetation in Kenya, as well as an area that shows plants and their traditional medicinal uses...

This tour can easily combined with the Nairobi Museum Tour

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    20
    11
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crowell, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good combined ticket with National Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We bought a combined ticket with the National Museum, which was a good value together and made for a very nice afternoon. Inside you will find many major snakes of Africa, including the massive Rock Python and the deadly Puff Adder. A surprise bonus was the many tortoises wandering a grassy courtyard. The crocodiles are rather disappointing, but overall it was fun. If you are thinking about going to the National Museum I would definitely add this on - otherwise it may not be worth the trip on its own.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not sure the animals were that happy.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

It all appeared a bit dirty and run down. Some of the glass on the cages was cracked, all of the glass was filthy and the cages looked like they needed a good clean out. There were crocs in the park as well but it was a bit depressing looking at them in really small enclosures. If you enjoy animals, I wouldn't support this.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very distressed for thereptiles”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have visited this place since its inception and always enjoyed it. I took a friend there a couple of weeks ago as a climax to a holiday. We were both appalled at the state of the place. Filthy cages. Filthy glass fronts. Cages with obvious signs of lack of attention. e.g Things like sloughed skin obviously left to rot. (The feeling I got was that with the more venomous snakes the keepers were too frightened to go near their charges.) Crocodiles lie in tiny cages - alone for eternity. One crocodile had a dirty concrete water bowl with filthy water only 3 inches deep. Rubbish in the cages. There is a sign for a comments/complaints book, but no book there. There was no-one to talk to but a laconic collector of tickets on the gate who knew absolutely nothing about reptiles or their husbandry - or for that matter any line manager. DON'T GO THERE.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Go round with a guide to make it worthwhile.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We got a combined ticket to see the museum and the snake park (I had visions of a snake park being filled with slides and swings specially built for snakes but, sigh, can't have everything...). As a combined ticket, it's worth it as it only costs 300 Ksh more to see both. If you just bought a ticket for the snake park (or indeed just for the museum) I think you'll be disappointed.
Definitely go round with a guide. Ours made the trip soooo much better as he knew lots more interesting stuff than just the information on the labels. It is old and in need of a big re-vamp and the aquarium bit is fairly pointless - and I felt sorry for the alligator (the only one in Kenya) who has been there for every one of his 46 years with no one to play with.
Learned a lot about snakes and filled an hour very well, but wouldn't have been good value on its own.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snake Park also viewed

 

Been to Snake Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snake Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Snake Park to your Saves list