We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very distressed for thereptiles” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Snake Park

Snake Park
Museum Hill, Nairobi, Kenya
254-20-3742131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 78 things to do in Nairobi
Attraction details
Padstow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very distressed for thereptiles”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have visited this place since its inception and always enjoyed it. I took a friend there a couple of weeks ago as a climax to a holiday. We were both appalled at the state of the place. Filthy cages. Filthy glass fronts. Cages with obvious signs of lack of attention. e.g Things like sloughed skin obviously left to rot. (The feeling I got was that with the more venomous snakes the keepers were too frightened to go near their charges.) Crocodiles lie in tiny cages - alone for eternity. One crocodile had a dirty concrete water bowl with filthy water only 3 inches deep. Rubbish in the cages. There is a sign for a comments/complaints book, but no book there. There was no-one to talk to but a laconic collector of tickets on the gate who knew absolutely nothing about reptiles or their husbandry - or for that matter any line manager. DON'T GO THERE.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    21
    15
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Go round with a guide to make it worthwhile.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We got a combined ticket to see the museum and the snake park (I had visions of a snake park being filled with slides and swings specially built for snakes but, sigh, can't have everything...). As a combined ticket, it's worth it as it only costs 300 Ksh more to see both. If you just bought a ticket for the snake park (or indeed just for the museum) I think you'll be disappointed.
Definitely go round with a guide. Ours made the trip soooo much better as he knew lots more interesting stuff than just the information on the labels. It is old and in need of a big re-vamp and the aquarium bit is fairly pointless - and I felt sorry for the alligator (the only one in Kenya) who has been there for every one of his 46 years with no one to play with.
Learned a lot about snakes and filled an hour very well, but wouldn't have been good value on its own.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Good add on to the Nairobi national museum visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The place has a decent selection of snakes and crocks. Though it is not huge and could do with a refurbishing, I would recommend it as nice add on to the Nairobi national museum visit (they share the location). My kids seemed to have enjoyed it! Purchase the combined ticket for both the museum and the snake park.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Reptil lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

They have all sorts of snakes, poisonous too, and other things like iguanas, crocodiles and turtles.

But personally I think that the presentation is not quite good and the place looks old. Although the animals seem to be in good conditions I didn't enjoy so much like in the museum but it was good (I guess reptiles are not my pasion.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“For reptile lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you don't like reptiles you probably won't like this place because is full of them. For reptile lovers like us it was quite nice experience. They have all sorts of snakes, poisonous too, and other things like iguanas, crocodiles and turtles. The place is old, but the animals seem to be in good conditions.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Snake Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snake Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.