We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Snake Park

Snake Park
Museum Hill, Nairobi, Kenya
254-20-3742131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I went to this as part of my visit to the Nairobi National museum and it was probably the highlight because it was interesting to see the variety of snakes, amphibians and turtles on display. All the snakes are behind an enclosure but you can still get up close to them. The turtles are in an open enclosure in the centre which is really nice. A great place to take pictures!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    20
    14
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frandefors
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A dissapoinment.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Many of the poison-snakes cages were to small and overcrowding for the poor animals, and dirty. Especially one with black mambas who through themselves around in what I associated with a bit of panic.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“for some one with a fear of snakes, this was bearable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

liked that we could see the smaller snakes not in cages, so i could actually not be so fearful that they would harm us. but the bigger snakes were in the glass houses just slithering away and looking harmless until we saw how big they were! there were lots of varieties to look at and they all looked well fed, thank goodness! they were in so many colours and sizes and some had shed their skins which was a big gross at some point to look at! But it was a fascinating experience to be so close to such dangerous animals and actually have the guts to look at them! but 3 or so cages didn't have any snakes, they should make all of them available so people can see as much as they have paid for.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Snake Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Snake Park has a collection of different kinds of snakes. There are also some other repetiles that are maintained at the park and are displayed for the public. Each snake has a summary of information including how harmful or harmless and the most common areas to find them. They are quite a sight.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great place to take your kids. cool snakes to see. much improved since i went there as a kid. they should make it more interactive. maybe a guide to take u around or sell cool snake souveniers

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snake Park also viewed

 

Been to Snake Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snake Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.