We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location perfect for those who want to walk around city centre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jamiat Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jamiat Hotel to your Saves list
Jamiat Hotel
Kimathi St & Tubman Road | Box 1588 - 00606, Nairobi 00606, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Harare, Zimbabwe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location perfect for those who want to walk around city centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I used to stay here while in transit back in 2011 and 2012. The hotel location is ideal for those who want to walk in the city centre and do shopping without having to hire a taxi.

The place can be noisy at times given the general location so if you really want a quiet space, might not be very ideal.

The rooms were quite comfortable with good internet connection and TV reception.

The porters do a great job of helping with luggage since you walk up to the second floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
2
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Overall it is Excellent, over the counter they charge US$75 for single room without breakfast but if you get rate of telephone or insist at reception then their actual room charges are Ksh. 3900 (US$ 45.88 approx.) for single without breakfast.

Its on 2nd floor of a shopping mall (Jamia Shopping Mall) and has no lift / elevator. It is in downtown, offer FREE internet, locker and Tea maker in the room. Hot water in the bath is available all the time. Rooms have balcony towards the street.

It has restaurant where you can have food of your own choice or buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner @ US 8.88.

In the next street about 250 meter away there is a good restaurant AL-YUSRA where you can find wide variety of food at reasonable price.

Room Tip: Try to get room not in front of Reception / Sitting room. Try to make booking in advance 2-3 days be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at this in August of 2012. A travel agent recommended it, and I accepted as I was on a tight budget. I stayed in a standard single room here for 3 nights. The hotel is in a shopping mall, and so it is very noisy. The breakfast was horrible. For 2 days I had no hot water. The staff were friendly and warm but took ages to respond to complaints. The location is very central and so everywhere within the city centre is a walking distance. For the price it is average value

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the big mosque are noisy, especially between 4am and 6am. Breakfast is not wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

So far I stayed two times at this hotel. What attracted me to it was the location, cleanliness and the price. Although the hotel is on top of a shopping mall it ticked all my boxes.

The rooms are modern looking and are kept clean. Each room has a mosquito net, Broadband and cable TV.

One side of hotel is opposite a mosque so if you do not wish to be awaken by morning prayers ask for a room on the other side of the building.

Food is fine, at a good price.

The only negative that I can say is that it's on a third floor and no elevators. Also it might get busy outside and some the noise may be heard in the room but it's bearable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

The room seemed small, as the bed was large. it's true, it can be noisy, but it's in a great central location- almost next to the central market. Bathroom adequate and super clean, scrubbed top to bottom daily (i saw the cleaner working hard on it) electrics a bit unstable, room safe, hanging space, tiny balcony with interesting views. VERY comfy bed and white cotton linen. towels old and frayed. plenty of shopping opportunities in the center below, i had a great pedicure for 150 Ksh. also a good health food store, one or two souvenir shops and plenty of computer repair shops. restaurant has buffet hot food constantly replenished, as well as a al carte. prices v reasonable. wonderful fresh juices.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munyithya, General Manager at Jamiat Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Many thanks for staying with us at the jamiat hotel and for creating time to share your valuable feedback. We have already started the process of replacing all the old linen and towels and i'm sure you will find the hotel much more better in your return visit.

My team appreciates your feedback and I am delighted that in some small way we were able take some stress out of your visit to Kenya. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Festus Munyithya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

I stayed there for three nights at the beginning of a recent trip to Nairobi. The staff were excellent; attentive and helpful. The room was a bit dark and it was noisy because of the close proximity to a busy road and the Mosque. But each day it was cleaned from top to bottom and inspected by the manager. It was not very cosy; the room had a high ceiling, there were no flowers, stationery or drinks to make you feel more at home. It was a bit like an Etap Hotel in Europe; comparitively good value, clean and functional. OK if you are on a short stop over or as a first port of call before you sort out a better hotel for the rest of your stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

I was so upset with this hotel.
I went for the conference in Nairobi, my colleague who booked this hotel for us with African point. We had paid in advance. I arrived one day late, it was suppose to be our second nights at this hotel, the receptionist not allow me to checkin and asked to go and find someplace else to stay. It was 4 a.m. in the morning, heavy raining and I was alone. Could you imagine that these people asked a young lady who travel alone to go and find some place else to stay at the night ? Finally they decided to give me a room around 9 o'clock. No reimburst for the first nigt.

When my coleague arrived, they had said the same that they did not have our name in the list, and did not give her a room... This is the worse experience in my life.

The room is night but too many electric problems and the internet is not available as they said in the web site. It was very noise, I was unable to sleep for whole week I was there.

Receptionists are really bad. One of them had tried to charge us 2 times more for the internet which was not working at all.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jamiat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamiat Hotel

Address: Kimathi St & Tubman Road | Box 1588 - 00606, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Jamiat Hotel is the latest addition of modern hotels in the city centre. Close proximity to international conference facilities, tea & coffee making facilities, internet access in all rooms, interconnecting rooms for families, fully fledged business, 260 seater multi theme City Hive restaurant, the only alcohol free residence in the city. Visit us and enjoy our unique hospitality concept and a five star experience in the most serene environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Jamiat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamiat Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamiat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.