We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A remarkable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingway's Brasserie Nairobi

Hemingway's Brasserie Nairobi
Nairobi 00100, Kenya
+(254)202295013
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 340 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
London
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A remarkable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We were amazingly well looked after by staff who were, as ever with Hemingways, perfect. The place and the space is epic and in my experience unrivalled in the Capitol. Nothing short of a remarkable experience. If you're in Nairobi then you must eat here at least once, make an afternoon/evening of it and spoil yourself. My wife and I had a great steak (she couldn't finish hers, lucky for me), with a lovely twilight view of the hills. Don't think twice.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingway's Brasserie Nairobi, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Dave,

It gives us tremendous pleasure to know that you enjoyed your visit to Hemingways Nairobi. We would be delighted to have you visit us again for another delightful experience. Welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Had a fantastic time with the family during mothers day.The menu offered good variety for children and adults. The food was fresh, portions generous. The children loved the home made vanilla ice cream. The Iced Mocha is the best I have had in Nairobi!

The service was also excellent, with the waiters mindful of the need to cater to the children first; and with update as to when the next course will be served.

We shall be back again soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very good food - service lacking professionalism”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Hemingway's is beautifully set in the Karen suburb of Nairobi. It has a fantastic terrace facing the Ngong hills. The food is continental, with a flair for steaks. They make a great beef tartar among other things. The only sad part about the kitchen is that they don't serve filet as part of the standard a la carte menu. The only thing pulling this place down is the lack of professional service. There are many waiters, with an half full restaurant. It seems they lack training on taking orders, transferring information to each other and in general delivering what was ordered. This place can only get a 4 rating when the service has been completely re-set/re-trained or changed. Its quite sad that such a beautiful place has such low employee standards.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“OH Hemingways Nairobi!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I do not understand why it took us so long to patronise the much hyped Hemingways Nairobi, yet it is literary 10 mins from our house. Anyway, we eventually visited for Easter lunch. It is a very well built boutique hotel, first class finishes - a truly lovely, imposing structure. I suspect that the rooms are fantastic! We have stayed at other Hemingways properties and the family always enjoyed themselves; in fact we may go to watamu again. It is on that basis that we were excited to be going for lunch at this very new, much talked about property in our serene neighborhood.

Oh boy, what a disappointment! After the elaborate security checks at the gate, there was nobody to receive us at either the hotel entrance or the restaraunt. When we eventually looked for a waiter and told her that we had a lunch reservation, we did not get the table we reserved outside. She simply had no reason why our reserved table was not available. Then the service was terribly slow and when our main course was eventually served (after a long wait), the food was bland and undercooked. Several customers were complaining on the quality of service, it was simply embarrassing! Even when the manager took away the undercooked food, we did not get replacement and we never saw him again. And all the waiter could tell us was that there was a problem in the kitchen, they got more customers than they expected. For real!

To be fair to the waiter (Susan) she put on a brave face in a fairly pathetic situation. Either way it is unacceptable service from Hemingways, particularly for the price they were charging for the lunch. Shame, it might take time to return there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemingway's Brasserie Nairobi also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Hemingway's Brasserie Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingway's Brasserie Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.