We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ngong Hills

Ngong Hills
Great Rift Valley | Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 85 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stunning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Rift Valley is awesome - the sheer size is hard to imagine as it runs through many countries. the views coming down the winding road from the Ngong hills is fantastic so don't miss it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    43
    20
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ngong Hills Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel is not listed on Trip Advisor and really should be a separate item. It is based near the Ngong Hills, Nairobi - please do not stay there. As leader of a large group of volunteer charity workers in Kibera slum, I feel dreadful that the team were subjected to the dreadful conditions at the hotel. We were not previously informed about the major renovations going on at the hotel - a third floor being built while gusts were staying there. We had lumps of concrete falling on the gound, drills etc going from 7.30am until 5.30pm daily apart from Sundays, huge holes dug under our balconies for the foundations etc. Our walls vibrated with the drills all day. The manager is one of the most unpleasant people I have ever met and was rude and threatening to us and did not offer us any compensation. Absolutely dreadful experience!!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“what a hotel!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

16 Charity workers were booked into the Ngong Hills Hotel as it was near to the Kibera slums where we were working. When we got there we found that there was building work being carried out. From very early in the morning till early evening there was constant noise with a generator being switched on immediately, pneumatic drills and everything else that constituted "building work". There were too many of us to move elsewhere so we had to stay. A couple of our
group were unwell but couldn't get any peace for the days they
were ill. The management insisted we pay the full cost and even
phoned for the police to make sure we didn't leave the hotel without
paying. We were so pleased to see the back of this hotel.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great view of nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

it's a bumpy ride, but worth the view and close to Nairobi. I especially liked visiting the locals, they are very friendly

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Devils Fist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

It is said that the devil tried to force his fist up out of the ground in rage, if you look at the range of mountains it looks just like a fist,
we had a trip to the top of the mountains late after noon in time to see a magnificent view over the rift valley & then to see the beautiful sun set wow

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ngong Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngong Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.