We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a hotel!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ngong Hills

Ngong Hills
Great Rift Valley | Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
254720650869
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 38 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Mountains, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“what a hotel!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

16 Charity workers were booked into the Ngong Hills Hotel as it was near to the Kibera slums where we were working. When we got there we found that there was building work being carried out. From very early in the morning till early evening there was constant noise with a generator being switched on immediately, pneumatic drills and everything else that constituted "building work". There were too many of us to move elsewhere so we had to stay. A couple of our
group were unwell but couldn't get any peace for the days they
were ill. The management insisted we pay the full cost and even
phoned for the police to make sure we didn't leave the hotel without
paying. We were so pleased to see the back of this hotel.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    38
    15
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great view of nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

it's a bumpy ride, but worth the view and close to Nairobi. I especially liked visiting the locals, they are very friendly

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Devils Fist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

It is said that the devil tried to force his fist up out of the ground in rage, if you look at the range of mountains it looks just like a fist,
we had a trip to the top of the mountains late after noon in time to see a magnificent view over the rift valley & then to see the beautiful sun set wow

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hills Climbing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Good Climate for climbing, best for Group Adventures, couples on hike or prayer retreats.
Located in the surburbs of Nairobi.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Picnic in the Ngong HIlls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

There is vast, sparse, rugged wilderness here. You will need a 4 wheel drive vehicle to traverse the area. The town of Ngong is full of quaint sights also.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngong Hills also viewed

 

Been to Ngong Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngong Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.