We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“serious exercise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ngong Hills

Ngong Hills
Great Rift Valley | Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 89 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“serious exercise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

looking to lose some pounds, then u r at the right place.......this hills will do things to you that no gym can. just be sure to be ready for the very red soil up there. leave your whites and sandals at home. dress like u going for a safari. hehe.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    47
    23
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rubicon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Green "Knuckles" With A View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Fighting traffic on Ngong Road to the village of Ngong was a bit discouraging to start, but a good driver and perseverance got us to the top where the view was worth the hassles. Must go through Ngong Ranger Station and pay a fee (about $10) plus take an armed forest ranger (tip at end of journey) along to top. Ngong means "knuckles" in Maasai as the hills, from Nairobi, look like your knuckles when making a fist. We were able to drive to top and park. Walked to edge of Rift Valley for a spectacular view of green vistas, grazing cattle and giant wind turbines. Chatted with some Kenyans on top, got one western dressed teenager who was herding cattle to pose as typical Maasai with one leg up and stick behind his head held by hands. Saw some traditionally dressed older Maasai upon return through Ngong Village. Worth the effort!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful area for a day trip or afternoon drive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Beautiful area for a day trip or afternoon drive - made famous in Out Of Africa as Karen Blixen loved them. Not far from the city. If you don't have a car, hire a local taxi from town, fix a price for the half day trip, not expensive. Ask a Kenyan what Ngong means - interesting!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ngong hills for the best hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very nice to relax on top! The hustle is to get there. Needs at least half day to get to the first peak. Be careful of buffallos but they inhabit in the forested areas especially the crater floor. The views are super as you are able to see the green side and the dry side of the hills.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm County, Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A beautiful walk but it takes a little stamina to climb these hills. Remember you are 2800 meters above sea level.

We had some problems to find our way. You must go to the Kenya Forest Service where they tell you to hire guards, in our case two. They come with their guns This felt totally unnecessary, the walk was very peaceful and there was no problem to find your way. But the guards were nice and we chatted with them. The guards cost 3000Ksh for both.

I was disturbed about the guard carrying loaded automatic weapons in our car and told them to take out the magazines. I would advice everyone to ask them the same. To travel in a car with loaded guns it madness!

It is so peaceful, yet you are in the outskirts of a mega town. We did not meet anyone save a shepherd with his sheep.

The view is breathtaking and highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ngong Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngong Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.