We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area for a day trip or afternoon drive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ngong Hills

Ngong Hills
Great Rift Valley | Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
254720650869
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 38 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Mountains, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful area for a day trip or afternoon drive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Beautiful area for a day trip or afternoon drive - made famous in Out Of Africa as Karen Blixen loved them. Not far from the city. If you don't have a car, hire a local taxi from town, fix a price for the half day trip, not expensive. Ask a Kenyan what Ngong means - interesting!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    38
    16
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Ngong hills for the best hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very nice to relax on top! The hustle is to get there. Needs at least half day to get to the first peak. Be careful of buffallos but they inhabit in the forested areas especially the crater floor. The views are super as you are able to see the green side and the dry side of the hills.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm County, Sweden
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A beautiful walk but it takes a little stamina to climb these hills. Remember you are 2800 meters above sea level.

We had some problems to find our way. You must go to the Kenya Forest Service where they tell you to hire guards, in our case two. They come with their guns This felt totally unnecessary, the walk was very peaceful and there was no problem to find your way. But the guards were nice and we chatted with them. The guards cost 3000Ksh for both.

I was disturbed about the guard carrying loaded automatic weapons in our car and told them to take out the magazines. I would advice everyone to ask them the same. To travel in a car with loaded guns it madness!

It is so peaceful, yet you are in the outskirts of a mega town. We did not meet anyone save a shepherd with his sheep.

The view is breathtaking and highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“On Top of world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

superb scenic view, fresh air, It you love hiking then this is place to go. not recommeded during rain as it could get very muddy.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bumpy Road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We traveled this way to visit family. It had beautiful scenary. However, this was THE bumpest road I have ever been on in life. Its a windy ride, tried to take photos but none came out because of all the bouncing. Make sure to stay away if raining because the streets look like mud so i can imagine it would be hard to travel if it were too wet

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngong Hills also viewed

 

Been to Ngong Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngong Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.