We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the effort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngong Hills

Ngong Hills
Great Rift Valley | Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Stockholm County, Sweden
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A beautiful walk but it takes a little stamina to climb these hills. Remember you are 2800 meters above sea level.

We had some problems to find our way. You must go to the Kenya Forest Service where they tell you to hire guards, in our case two. They come with their guns This felt totally unnecessary, the walk was very peaceful and there was no problem to find your way. But the guards were nice and we chatted with them. The guards cost 3000Ksh for both.

I was disturbed about the guard carrying loaded automatic weapons in our car and told them to take out the magazines. I would advice everyone to ask them the same. To travel in a car with loaded guns it madness!

It is so peaceful, yet you are in the outskirts of a mega town. We did not meet anyone save a shepherd with his sheep.

The view is breathtaking and highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    41
    18
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“On Top of world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

superb scenic view, fresh air, It you love hiking then this is place to go. not recommeded during rain as it could get very muddy.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bumpy Road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We traveled this way to visit family. It had beautiful scenary. However, this was THE bumpest road I have ever been on in life. Its a windy ride, tried to take photos but none came out because of all the bouncing. Make sure to stay away if raining because the streets look like mud so i can imagine it would be hard to travel if it were too wet

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Not for the feint bodied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Great hike & picnic site. You will be hurting owever if - like me - you're unfit. Great place though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“More Than You'll Expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Ngong Hills are breathtaking and a surprise. However, be sure to drive around "Corner Baridi" and see the Maasai lands BEHIND Ngong Hills. Do not just look at the views towards Nairobi. Drive all the way to "Ole Polos" and see stunning African scenery. You feel like you are in a movie.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngong Hills also viewed

 

Been to Ngong Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngong Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.