We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bumpy Road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ngong Hills

Ngong Hills
Great Rift Valley | Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
254720650869
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Mountains, Trails, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
Attraction Details
Bellflower, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bumpy Road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We traveled this way to visit family. It had beautiful scenary. However, this was THE bumpest road I have ever been on in life. Its a windy ride, tried to take photos but none came out because of all the bouncing. Make sure to stay away if raining because the streets look like mud so i can imagine it would be hard to travel if it were too wet

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    32
    13
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Not for the feint bodied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Great hike & picnic site. You will be hurting owever if - like me - you're unfit. Great place though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“More Than You'll Expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Ngong Hills are breathtaking and a surprise. However, be sure to drive around "Corner Baridi" and see the Maasai lands BEHIND Ngong Hills. Do not just look at the views towards Nairobi. Drive all the way to "Ole Polos" and see stunning African scenery. You feel like you are in a movie.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"interesting" experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hills are beautiful, much of Kenya is...however this is not a safe area. First off go with a big group, and hire a guard or handle a gun. I went with two other people, one a woman, and the only warning signs would be hindsight. There were no guards on the way, we later found out the guards woke up late. We arrived at 8:15 and after the 3rd hill (9:15ish), we sat down to rest. 3 bandits came from the side of the mountain with large machetes, and told us to lie on the grass. Robbed us of around 5,000 shillings, cameras, usb drives, and beat myself (man) and the other man with the sides of the blades. After we hiked back, the locals and paramilitary did tell us that another group of 6 White people were robbed and beaten for resisting, the general attitude was we should've known better. Well if there were signs, and guards, and warnings, we may have known better. We were told that we were robbed because the woman was white, and if the two of us (both Black men) had gone alone, this would not have happened. Don't know if that was supposed to make us feel better. Please exercise caution, as this is an area were many do not have...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Closer to Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Ngong is the name the Maasai gave the hills - it is named for the sound of God's fist hitting the hills and explains why it looks like it does - knuckles of an Almighty fist. It was a magnificent view - it seemed like a world stretching before us - rivers, lakes, plains and distance volcanoes. Then all of a sudden we were surrounded by a thick white mist and couldn't see even a foot ahead. Just as suddenly as it appeared, it cleared, leaving us in the thrall of the sun setting over the Rift Valley. Breathtaking. Yes, would do it again and again.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngong Hills also viewed

 

Been to Ngong Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngong Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ngong Hills to your Saves list