We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"interesting" experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ngong Hills

Ngong Hills
Great Rift Valley | Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
254720650869
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Mountains, Trails, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
Attraction Details
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"interesting" experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hills are beautiful, much of Kenya is...however this is not a safe area. First off go with a big group, and hire a guard or handle a gun. I went with two other people, one a woman, and the only warning signs would be hindsight. There were no guards on the way, we later found out the guards woke up late. We arrived at 8:15 and after the 3rd hill (9:15ish), we sat down to rest. 3 bandits came from the side of the mountain with large machetes, and told us to lie on the grass. Robbed us of around 5,000 shillings, cameras, usb drives, and beat myself (man) and the other man with the sides of the blades. After we hiked back, the locals and paramilitary did tell us that another group of 6 White people were robbed and beaten for resisting, the general attitude was we should've known better. Well if there were signs, and guards, and warnings, we may have known better. We were told that we were robbed because the woman was white, and if the two of us (both Black men) had gone alone, this would not have happened. Don't know if that was supposed to make us feel better. Please exercise caution, as this is an area were many do not have...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    32
    13
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Closer to Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Ngong is the name the Maasai gave the hills - it is named for the sound of God's fist hitting the hills and explains why it looks like it does - knuckles of an Almighty fist. It was a magnificent view - it seemed like a world stretching before us - rivers, lakes, plains and distance volcanoes. Then all of a sudden we were surrounded by a thick white mist and couldn't see even a foot ahead. Just as suddenly as it appeared, it cleared, leaving us in the thrall of the sun setting over the Rift Valley. Breathtaking. Yes, would do it again and again.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“For the fit at Heart.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a good hike for the fit at heart...the trek is trecherous towards the end especially when the hills look synced, hence the need for a fit heart to push on. Start that walk early as the sun can be too harsh at noon. Have an armed Kenya Wildlife Service guide hired as there at times can be wild animals on your path...Kona Baridi toeards the end is windy and at times cold hence having a warm attire in your back pack is advisable. doing a return hike is tricky so plan to be picked at the other side by a designated vehicle. there are barbecue resorts at the end such as oleopolos and a well deserved meal with friends after a hike works magic. we however opted to drive back to Karen and and had lunch at Red cube restaurant and bar where there is a variety to choose from..great culinary experience it was!!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

There is nothing like a walk in the hills and these, being so close to Nairobi, are just unmissable. Looking down into the plain is awesome and it is, of course, the burial site of Dennis Fitch Hatton of Out of Africa, played by Robert Redford. The only downside is that you must have a guide/guard as the "bandits" can be very active, ie it can be dangerous up there.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As with all the reviews, it is a great place to hike, no scree, and much on grass. Yes at the entrance , they say you need armed escort ($) from one of their "rangers".... if you are going to 4th Hill. ...just say NO. Whilst in the past some young Massai may have conducted a robbery or 2 on 4 th hill (the one with a bit of tree cover), me think this is excuse for them now to get a pair to "lol, guide"you. The biggest problem on weekends is number of people and school kids and church groups.If you happen to be alone, at the start of 4 th hill is where some buffalo roam, so caution advised, more so than robbers, It is great to be at 8400 feet and the vistas of Rift Valley are great...air is clean !!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngong Hills also viewed

 

Been to Ngong Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngong Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ngong Hills to your Saves list