We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moniko's Kitchen

Moniko's Kitchen
Gitanga Road | Valley Arcade, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
+(254)0737032064
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 419 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian, European, Vegetarian, Delicatessen, Grill, Healthy
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I was at Monikos last night. I had been hearing about the burgers and had to go and try one.

Incredible!! My wife had the snapper and it was also unbeleivable. We met Chef Kendi and she is the reason behind it all. Fabulous food and atmosphere. Well done!!

Fred Kendani

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fareed k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Smiling Tummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My tummy and I frequent Monikos for the not just the food but the ambiance and its various themed events. Like most places on the continent service is not always up to par but Monikos works on friendly and personable staff. Great new outdoor kitchen has brought more selection to the menu and variety of foods for the tummy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BAbeAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
206 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice surprise and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had not been here for a while as the food was not up to par, however, what a surprise when we dined there the other day! The food is great and the menu has a lot more choices. Talk about value for food. Now that they have a covered area, it is lovely, but they should distinguish the smoking area from the non smoking.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank smatlock10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didn't quite lived up to earlier standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I visited Monikos the first time during the Nairobi Restaurant week 2014 that happened earlier this year. During that time most restaurants participating offered nothing but the best in fine dining experiences. So I chose to visit Monikos a second time with friends, hoping for an equally good experience. To cut a long story short, the service was dreadful(waiters kept on rotating and we were almost billed for an order we did not place), the food was okay to say the least(had pasta that day) and Monikos really needs to do something about the restroom issue!! Overall, it didn't quite live up to its original standards. But that's my opinion!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edzone254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I highly recommend you go for the specials every time you visit, the chef always has something special :) My favorite from the menu is the Swahili snapper comes and for a light biting I recommend the bacon cheese samosas (orgasm in the mouth) to wash it down white wine, Leopard's leap to be specific.

The place has good ambiance, helpful staff. They have Quiz nights once a month. great time to come with friends and battle against other teams and have a good time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KenyanStylista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
936Diana83, Public Relations Manager at Moniko's Kitchen, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Franklin, Thank you so much for your kind review, we are glad you loved your visit with us, you'll be glad to hear the swahili snapper will still be a regular on our specials, along with our carmbert samosa's. We look forward to having you join us again for a glass of stags leap (or two)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moniko's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Moniko's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing