We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a bad place!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Meridian Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Meridian Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meridian Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Muranga Road, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
SA
1 review
“What a bad place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

We were a group of six people that stayed there for 1 night only. It was one night to long. The place was so bad - from the reception to the rooms. Not to mention the 'restaurant'. One of our friends was nearly robbed of her handbag. There was so much noise that we couldn't sleep at all. Please stay away!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    25
    15
    14
See reviews for
9
20
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

I chose to spend a little extra on this hotel because their web site advertised a "modern, fully equipped gym" and a business center with internet, email, and fax (necessary because I was training for Kilimanjaro and also had some work to do). They have neither! When I brought this up to the reception and manager, they were dismissive and entirely unhelpful. They did promise to correct the web site, but it has been a month and nothing has changed. It's not a very nice hotel anyway - spend your money elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We left the same night that we got there. There was tear-gas wafting through the hotel, non-smoking rooms didn't mean that no one smoked in the rooms, sound-proof glass was not even close to sound-proof, bed was rock hard, just to state a few problems. It cost about 140 USD and we wouldn't pay 30 at home for a room such as this. Majorly mislead and disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Münster
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

The hotel is very central and so its a noisy place. Especially on the weekends there are some clubs nearby, that make impressive noises.
The primeur rooms are well furnished and very clean. The staff is friendly and helpfull. The splendid restauraunt shown on the hotels web-site is closed (at the moment?). So You eat in the basic breakfast room.
All public parts of the hotel were in renovations during my stay in may (should be finished soon).
I can recommend this place for people with average budget, who want to stay in the heart of town.
Hint: Forget the breaky in the hotel and take it in a nice shop right a few steps from the hotels entrance

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

Well we had a bad experience in Nairiobi (a bad city), and the hotel let's just say wasn't the best. The bathroom was pretty dirty. We actually had a decent room with tv and wi-fi. The beds were rocks. So we had a so-so room but the price is what pissed us off! 130 USD/Night.

  • Liked — Decent Room, Room service,
  • Disliked — The Value was the worst we have had
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

I arrived Monday night October 15 and checked out the next day for a flight to Amsterdam. I really liked it . The Staff was great , breakfast was fair and for a hotel in the middle of the city it was quiet. I had a tv and 2 couches in the living area with a balcony overlooking a square . The bedroom had two Single beds . the bathroom was separate from the shower and CLEAN!. My only concern was with the Bedspread it was a tan like color and I couldnt tell if it was dirt or just the natural color..Tuesday was a market day so I got to shop for all curios.. the market was just down the street and very close. Compared the other Hotel (Hotel Boulevard) I had stayed 3 weeks earlier this was awesome

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

I stayed for 11 nights at this hotel and it is certainly good value for money. It is fairly basic and could do with a modernisation but it is still a comfortable place to be. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The position on Moi Street is also excellent. The restaurant was also quite good with a good range of meals. Breakfast was also more than adequate. Only two major problems. Firstly the satellite television which was supposed to provide a wide range of programmes didn't. One guest complained to the manager who replied he had the same trouble as well. (It reminded me in Fawlty Towers when somebody complained to Basil about Manuel). Secondly the phone charges. I was hit for a bill for over £60 for less than 2 hours of local calls. A call of 61 seconds costs over £1(2 $). This was certainly not made clear to me. So enjoy the hotel, bring a good book (so you don't rely on the television) and for heavens sake DON'T TOUCH THE PHONE

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — the phones and televisions
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meridian Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Court Hotel

Address: 6 Muranga Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meridian Court Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Meridian Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meridian Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.