We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meridian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Meridian Hotel to your Saves list
Meridian Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Muranga Road | Moi Avenue, Nairobi 30278-00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room was fine but rest of the facility was not upto the mark.
Much to be desired of the pick up and drop services.
Food is good, staff are ok but the restaurant lacks the ambience.
Will take time to reach the hotel especially in the day time as the Nairobi traffic is unpredictable. Hotel is in a busy area so is not convenient for quick stop overs and short stays.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
3
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Meridian for two nights recently, and found it to be comfortable, clean, and quiet. They are doing some construction at the hotel, so there is some noise from 10am to 5pm, but it was not bad when I was there, and they really did stop at 5. The public areas leave a little to be desired, but the rooms are well-appointed, spotless, and the bed is very comfortable. A central location and quick drive to the airport when there is no traffic.

The restaurant serves delicious Indian food (try the Chicken Makhani!), and the breakfast is very generous. The staff were helpful and friendly. The internet was very quick and reliable.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest

I appreciate the time you have taken to write such a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Meridian Hotel Nairobi.

I am very pleased to note that while we are still completing the renovations to the Hotel, you were comfortable during your stay and also found the place quiet. As you correctly mentioned, some of the public areas still need upgrading, and this will be done in due course.

Thank you for mentioning that the rooms are well-appointed and clean, and that you found the beds very comfortable. It is great to know that the renovated areas of the Hotel are being appreciated by our guests.

Your kind comments about our convenient location, delicious food and reliable internet are very well received. It is also wonderful to know that the staff of the Hotel are continuing to provide great service to all our guests.

We hope to see you again very soon. Please don't leave it too long before you come back for some more of that delicious Chicken Makhani!

Regards

Safiyah Kurji
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dibrugarh, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed our holidays with Meridian hotel, food was excellent, service also was good. we really enjoyed the facilities of the hotel, we want to recommend to our friend and family members.
We spent 3 nights in Meridian Hotel; the hotel not only fitted our expectations, but it exceeded them in many areas important to us (like cleaning and location). Every place you go you find good things and bad things, best option is to find the place where the bad things are not very important to you.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Meridian Hotel, Nairobi and for taking the time to write such a great review!

I am very pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that your overall experience exceeded your expectations. I very much appreciate you making recommendations to all your family and friends.

At the Meridian Hotel, all feedback is important and valuable to us. Kindly write to us on info@meridianhotelkenya.com with details of where your expectations during your recent visit were not fully met. This will allow us to make the necessary improvements so that on your next stay at the Meridian Hotel, we are able to provide you with an even better experience.

Thanks again for all your wonderful comments and we look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Regards

Safiyah Kurji
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent Service, V neat n Clean staff is very helping and caring food buffet is large variety many vegetarian n India food available special thanks to Sawati,navenn and john for attending to our many requests location of hotel in market area is very good for guests. So we brought some gifts for home wish full team good luck. We feel so at home here,three days left then off home to work and save up again.. thank you Meridian,and it's wonderful staff

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review of Meridian Hotel! It is great to know that you and your family were very much at home during your stay.

Your positive comments of the cleanliness of the Hotel as well as the excellent service provided by our staff is very much appreciated.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the food and that all your special requests were taken care of. I will ensure that Swati, John and Chef Naveen receive your great compliments.

Thanks again for all your kind words. We wish you and your family a safe journey back to California and we look forward to hosting you in the future!

Regards

Safiyah Kurji
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good Hotel, Located near my work, has plenty to see around in terms of malls and markets, I got one of the recently renovated rooms. It was nice.

Best part was availability of Indian Food. Staff at Khyber or Rendezvous were very hospitable.

Staff was very accommodating and caring. I requested for an early breakfast, Got it just as I expected it.

Has a very decent rooftop pool and gym to workout or relax.

Overall a good stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a city facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest

I appreciate the time you have taken to write such a wonderful review of the Meridian Hotel, Nairobi.

Thank you for mentioning the convenient location of the Hotel, being close to malls and local markets in the Central Business District.
For your information, we also have a 24 hour Travel Desk located within the Hotel. On your next visit to Nairobi, you should make use of this valuable service. The staff at the Travel Desk will be able to organise transport / tour packages to various attractions in and around Nairobi at competitive prices, allowing you to experience a little bit more of what Kenya has to offer.

Your high praises of the food and the staff at the Hotel are highly appreciated. I will ensure that your comments are passed onto the team, who will be highly motivated by your kind words. I am pleased you were also able to receive your early breakfast to your satisfaction.

It was a pleasure hosting you at the Meridian Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards

Safiyah Kurji
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at hotel meridian nairobi .Hotel was full of guests and i had little issue with A/c but was fixed immediately.Staff's were friendly and courteous. Good variety of international and indian food .Would love to visit again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Meridian Hotel.Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are delighted with your feedback and happy to note that we were able to take good care of you during the stay.

Shall keep in touch and keep you posted on all our offers.Please do mail me on rdm@meridianhotelkenya.com whenever you are traveling this side again.

Till then please take good care of yourself.

warm regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Meridian is a good hotel within walking distance from the KICC. It's been recently renovated. The area tends to become rather lonely at night because it is in the business area so most shops & offices closed down.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Nehal G

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Meridian Hotel, Nairobi.

I appreciate your comment about our convenient location in the city centre and am pleased that you were easily able to get to the KICC for the India Expo 2015.

With regards to your comment about it being rather lonely at night in the CBD, please note that we have a dedicated Travel Desk located within the Hotel. The staff at the Travel Desk will more than happy to organise for transport using reliable and well-trained taxi drivers, so that you are able to experience the nightlife within Nairobi, whether it be tasting the international cuisine in Nairobi's various restaurants, having a drink at a local bar / nightclub, watching a play at the theatre or catching your favourite movie at the cinema.

Thanks again for writing your review of the Hotel and we look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Regards

Safiyah Kurji
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meridian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Hotel

Address: 6 Muranga Road | Moi Avenue, Nairobi 30278-00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meridian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meridian Hotel is one the established and reputed hotel in Nairobi, Kenya. The top management of the company committed to ISO 9001:2008 quality management system. The Meridian hotel is conveniently located in the city"s prime business and shopping district of 'Central Business District'. The hotel offers 120 newly renovated rooms with tastefully decorated and equipped modern amenities, 24 hours multi cuisine coffee shop and in room dinning offers delicious food and simply great beverages. The Meridian hotel an ideal location for business meetings and conferences in Nairobi. Recreational facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, a health club and a full service Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Meridian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meridian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.