We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value. Terrific Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meridian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Meridian Hotel to your Saves list
Meridian Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Muranga Road | Moi Avenue, Nairobi 30278-00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 120 Hotels in Nairobi
Mombasa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value. Terrific Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When comparing Nairobi Hotel prices, this hotel is great.

The bed is the best I've slept on, everything is very clean and well maintained, the restaurant has truly delicious food (although quite pricey by Kenyan standards).

We ordered a taxi through the hotel a couple of times and the drivers were reasonable prices and knowledgeable about Nairobi.

Wifi was reliable and fast, Showers were hot and had good pressure. If you need to do Laundry, it's really expensive so I suggest finding an alternative but aside from the expensive extras, this hotel is great for us.

We will be back

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very nicely renovated lobby and restaurant. Great choice of meeting and private dining facilities. Good size rooftop pool for lap swimming. Recently renovated guest rooms. Friendly staff. Free parking in building.

Room Tip: any renovated room at front of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Mr Oudendijk

Thank you very much for writing a review of the Meridian Hotel, Nairobi.

We very much appreciate the time you took to come and visit us despite your busy schedule. Your positive comments as well as your constructive feedback during your stay with us, were well received. It will now enable us to make further improvements to the Hotel so that we are able to provide a better service to our future guests.

We wish you a safe journey back to The Netherlands and hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Safiyah Kurji
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I Stayed for 5 days. The food was wonderful. Hotel
Is at a Very good location . I was visiting for the 1 st time and I really appreciate the hotel's helpful staff.Rooms were clean and my stay was very comfortable .
Loved it! Will go there again!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Meridian Hotel.

It is good to know that you had a comfortable stay with us. I am also glad you appreciated the convenient location of the Hotel, being in the heart of the city of Nairobi.

I am very pleased you enjoyed the food and also found the staff helpful. Your comments of appreciation will be passed onto the team.

We very much look forward to seeing you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Meridian Hotel Nairobi.

Regards

Safiyah Kurji
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco da Gama, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in this resort for 03 nights & had an amazing time. The staff & service provided to us was very good. Had dinner at Rendezvous an Indian food and Nyama Choma was awesome. Thanks to Chef Sanjay who cooked good Indian food for us and Chef Naveen for being very informative and helpful. Although the renovation is on, but the hotel is nice & definitely will become better...

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Meridian Hotel, Nairobi.

I am delighted that our staff provided very good service to you and your family during your brief stay with us.

I will pass on your comments of appreciation to Chef Naveen and Chef Sanjay. It is great to know that with their International Experience, our new chefs are meeting the needs of our guests.

I am pleased to hear that the renovations at the Hotel are being seen in a positive light. It is our goal to provide a better product and service to our all guests in the very near future.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon for another amazing experience at the Meridian Hotel.

Regards

Safiyah Kurji
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

We found the hotel very good in all manners. The rooms have recently been renovated and refurbished. There is still renovation going on in other parts of the hotel. We found the breakfast very good. The service was very good. The rooms and bathroom were very clean and cleaned thoroughly every day. The linen and towels are clean and good. Overall all the amenities are very good. The location is in the city centre, close to very many offices and government offices and foreign embassies.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Meridian Hotel.

I am pleased that you found the location of the Hotel convenient, with easy access to various parts of the city. It is good to know that you appreciated the newly renovated rooms and the breakfast. I will ensure that your feedback on the very good service provided by our staff will be passed on appropriately.

At the Meridian Hotel Nairobi, we strive to give our guests the best possible experience at great prices. We very much look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards

Safiyah Kurji
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

The rooms are newly renovated. In fact there is still some renovation going on. Just make sure, that you get a room which is not next to room which is renovated at the moment. The rooms with three single beds are not that nice although they come like a suite with seperate living room and seperate bedroom. But the bedrooms of the suites are somehow small, more like a box. But the double room (double bed or twin bed) are fine.
The rooms are clean, the bed is comfortable, linen clean and there is a safety-box in the room which is big enough for a laptop.
Breakfast is ok. There is quite a variety of different food, which seems to cater also for Indian guests.
In the area around the Hotel you will find many Restaurants and coffeeshops.

The homepage of the hotel is not up to date. The hotel Looks different now. There are no balconies any more but the rooms got bigger.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2015
Dear Tobias K

Thank you for taking the time to review the Meridian Hotel Nairobi.

I appreciate your comments about the cleanliness of our rooms including our bed linen. I am pleased that you found the bed comfortable and were also able to make good use of the digital safe, which is a standard feature in all our rooms.

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed the breakfast at the Meridian. For your information, we have a new chef with International experience now on board and we will be bringing in new changes and culinary experiences in the menu.

Our triple rooms tend to cater for and are popular with families, especially with young children. The young child is thus able to stay in the same room as the parents as well as enjoy the benefit of the separate living room. The triple rooms also have the added advantage of a larger washroom.

As we are nearing the end of the upgrades in the Hotel, it is our hope that on your next visit to the Meridian Hotel Nairobi, you will have a more relaxed and comfortable stay, without having to worry about any disturbances. With all the improvements to the facilities of the Hotel, I am sure you will enjoy a better stay with us. Also, the update on the website is currently in progress.

Thanks again for your review of your recent stay at the Meridian Hotel. We highly value all our guests’ feedback.

Regards

Safiyah Kurji
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015 via mobile

i think the Meridian is a good choice when visiting Nairobi for a few days. The good is that the rooms are modern with nice bathrooms, flatscreen tv's a safe and a comfortable bed. The breakfast is good and I found the staff overall very friendly. The not so good is that the hotel is undergoing extensive renovation, so prepare to wake up early even during the weekend. Another point is that the rooftop pool needs major overhaul, and that the gym is not in operational condition. Also beware that the hotel is not in the best part of town (although centrally located), so walking around at night is not really an option. I think that after the renovation is completely finished this place could be great, for now its decent.

Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2015
Dear Steven

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel.

We have noted your comments about our newly renovated rooms, our breakfast and our friendly staff. We are very humbly pleased to know that you enjoyed and appreciated the effort we are trying to make to create a better product, which is in line with the current time and the best hotel options available in Nairobi.

As you can understand the task of making something better is always difficult, however in the end we are all happy that a better product was created. I apologise that while we have been trying to upgrade our product and services, there was noise which disturbed you during your recent stay with us. While we have almost completed all the changes we hope to see you more often to enjoy our true hospitality. For your information the gym and the swimming pool area are also going for an upgrade.

With regards to your comment about safety in the city, we recommend all our guests to be vigilant as per the security briefs issued by the local bodies and other sources. The security of our guests is our prime concern, especially when going out at night. Our team is trained and will be more than happy to advise on the local attractions, things to do and safety points while you decide to leave the Hotel premises.

I would like to also request you to share any more feedback in detail on info@meridianhotelkenya.com so that we are able to improve further. We do hope to welcome you again in the future so that you are able to make use of the new facilities at the Meridian Hotel and enjoy the new upgraded product completely.

Regards

Safiyah Kurji
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Meridian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Hotel

Address: 6 Muranga Road | Moi Avenue, Nairobi 30278-00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 120 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meridian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meridian Hotel is one the established and reputed hotel in Nairobi, Kenya. The top management of the company committed to ISO 9001:2008 quality management system. The Meridian hotel is conveniently located in the city"s prime business and shopping district of 'Central Business District'. The hotel offers 120 newly renovated rooms with tastefully decorated and equipped modern amenities, 24 hours multi cuisine coffee shop and in room dinning offers delicious food and simply great beverages. The Meridian hotel an ideal location for business meetings and conferences in Nairobi. Recreational facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, a health club and a full service Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Meridian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meridian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.