We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night...no more” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Meridian Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Meridian Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meridian Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Muranga Road, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One night...no more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is undergoing renovation. So it will be better for them to close the hotel for a period of time. When you arrive late in the night it's like a nightmare. After the first night I cancelled. The noise is terrible. It like sleeping in the lobby or outside a Saturday night.

Room Tip: Wait for the end of renovation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    24
    14
    14
See reviews for
9
19
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is safe hotel to stay if you are looking at USD 100 as budget. This hotel is undergoing rennovation. They have some rooms that are really very very bad to stay. Receptist will tell you that only two rooms are available and will offer you bad room. But dont agree to it.

Please ask for new rooms on 4th floor facing road or on right side of the lift while coming up.. They are good one to stay. You can take confirmation on the room being allotted in advance.

Break fast is too good and overall an excellent place to stay.

Just go for it. Need not read to many reviews . They will confuse.
Good for business and family stay

and very important is its SAFE !!!


Negativce of this hotel is
- You will hear lot of sound if plan to be in room in day time

Room Tip: New rooms on 4th floor are good to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

In nairobi I was desperate for a hotel and this was the only choice. They took $150. Which is the same price as sarova pan Afric. They had a friendly staff but the owner was quite mean. The rooms were good and the bathroom was clean. Yet the beads were very hard. It is a minutes walk from Kenyatta avenue and at a good location. Al though my room was not dreary. If you walked out of the room, the atrium and the hallway was quite dreary and cold. I would really not suggest this place

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at the Meridian in June for 2 nights while on business and was very disappointed. It was my 5th time to Nairobi and by far my worst overall experience based mainly on the service.

CONS:

ROOMS:
I checked in and went to my room and the telephone did not work. I required this to work as I was travelling for business and went downstairs to advise reception. They sent someone up to look at it and could not get it to work so I was moved to another room. I unpacked and was about to leave for a meeting and realised the balcony doors did not lock. The telephone worked this time so I called reception and they sent someone up to look at it and he advised me that it "did not matter that the balcony doors did not lock" I was very unhappy and told him I required a room with locking balcony doors and he was very unhelpful in moving me. I was finally moved to a room with locking balcony doors and a telephone but the effort involved from management was an issue and not appropriate from a hotel. The bathroom in my first room was also not clean and had hairs on the floor.

ROOM SERVICE:
I arrived and ordered room service which took a very long time to arrive. The room service attendant advised me upon arrival she took my order to the wrong room and wanted me to pay cash because of an issue with the incorrect room number attached. I told her I needed to charge to my room account as I was travelling for business and again her attitude was not pleasant. The whole experience seemed like a big effort for her.

PROS:

LOCATION:
The hotel was located just a short walk to the centre of town.

I would not recommend this hotel to people travelling to Nairobi for business or leisure due to the lack of service. I have stayed at other hotels in town which offer much better service and better prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for more than a month and we found the hotel to have very good accommodation, service, excellent breakfast and cleanliness. Location is in heart of the city and lot of amenities are within walking distance. There is good size swingpool on top.

It is going through renovation of some rooms and such it is expected that during the day it would be a bit noisy although construction area are well boarded up to minimise noose and dust. Some dust does escape and settle on ground and ledges, although not in rooms But I fould staff constantly cleaning up the dust. Some complaints to that effect may be not avoidable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mozambique Island, Mozambique
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel reception promises a lot to get customers. My room AC did not work, and did not change my room as they said they were full (all lies) and instead put a fan???. Once guest check out, housekeeping waits(they steal instead) and later send a message to reception of having found a towel missing. I happened to be there waiting in lobby and could directly confront them on this embracing accusations. Very dirty rooms and no services and restaurants does not have footfall so they re- circulate food. Only thing in morning, the buffet breakfast was reasonably OK. Uncouth and non professional staff.

Room Tip: Rooms not clean, Linen is Ok, Rooms very noisy due to traffic and staff uncouth and unfriendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hall
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is undergoing renovation and it seems like they're trying to do a good job.We had a redone room which was nice in size. The swimming pool was fine but needs the whole area around it redone as well. As we had a flight that left late at night they let us extend our checkout for a reasonable fee. We chose to eat at the Carlton Hotel across the street for dinner because the dining room was nicer- perhaps they will be redoing theirs. The location is close enough to walk to the CBD and the local tourist market and scenic mosque. As far as general safety in Nairobi which you hear so much about, we felt fine walking around as 2 super white faces all the time, although I did leave my purse in the hotel safe in our room so it didn't even look like I had anything to take. I think if you're used to third world countries and smart about it you're fine. Also, the streets are totally busy until at least 9 at night anyway. The staff was most friendly and helpful and once it's all redone will be great.

Room Tip: If they are still doing construction and you need to sleep during the day this is not the place for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianHotelKenya, Guest Relations Manager at Meridian Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Marylin,

It was a pleasure to host you at our hotel. We are in the process of redoing the restaurant and hope you will dine there next time you come around :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meridian Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Court Hotel

Address: 6 Muranga Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meridian Court Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsClick, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Meridian Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meridian Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.