We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meridian a bad experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Meridian Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Meridian Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meridian Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Muranga Road, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Mozambique Island, Mozambique
1 review
“Meridian a bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel reception promises a lot to get customers. My room AC did not work, and did not change my room as they said they were full (all lies) and instead put a fan???. Once guest check out, housekeeping waits(they steal instead) and later send a message to reception of having found a towel missing. I happened to be there waiting in lobby and could directly confront them on this embracing accusations. Very dirty rooms and no services and restaurants does not have footfall so they re- circulate food. Only thing in morning, the buffet breakfast was reasonably OK. Uncouth and non professional staff.

Room Tip: Rooms not clean, Linen is Ok, Rooms very noisy due to traffic and staff uncouth and unfriendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    25
    15
    14
See reviews for
9
20
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hall
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is undergoing renovation and it seems like they're trying to do a good job.We had a redone room which was nice in size. The swimming pool was fine but needs the whole area around it redone as well. As we had a flight that left late at night they let us extend our checkout for a reasonable fee. We chose to eat at the Carlton Hotel across the street for dinner because the dining room was nicer- perhaps they will be redoing theirs. The location is close enough to walk to the CBD and the local tourist market and scenic mosque. As far as general safety in Nairobi which you hear so much about, we felt fine walking around as 2 super white faces all the time, although I did leave my purse in the hotel safe in our room so it didn't even look like I had anything to take. I think if you're used to third world countries and smart about it you're fine. Also, the streets are totally busy until at least 9 at night anyway. The staff was most friendly and helpful and once it's all redone will be great.

Room Tip: If they are still doing construction and you need to sleep during the day this is not the place for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianHotelKenya, Guest Relations Manager at Meridian Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Marylin,

It was a pleasure to host you at our hotel. We are in the process of redoing the restaurant and hope you will dine there next time you come around :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerang
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in September as part of a touring group and we found that it was very much in need of an upgrade. We had a lounge room a separate bedroom, a bathroom and a toilet wash basin room so it was quite spacious.The rooms were neat and tidy and the bed was clean and comfortable. The television was ordinary and the door onto the balcony could not be locked. The breakfast was plentiful and adequate and the evening meals were quite good. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is close to the business district and shopping and banks were nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

If you are looking at safe and decent hotel in CBD area then this best one. Affordable (less than 100 USD), clean, and break fast is good. Ideal for business traveller as all banks are very close to this hotel and at walking distance.
Rooms are non AC but at Nairobi weather is so good that one will not feel like going for AC.

It's even good for families to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianHotelKenya, Guest Relations Manager at Meridian Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Vikaspanditrao,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Warm Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel at the end of August 2012 as it was the end of tour hotel of the trip I've made. But after reading all the bad comments here, I was really hesitating and very close to change my hotel. I stayed there very reluctantly only because my group was staying there and I didn't want to stay alone in Nairobi. But when we got there and I saw my room, I was really surprised. It was more than ok. All rooms were suites with a bedroom and a living room separately, bigger than many hotel at this price, clean bathroom and toilet separately. (In some rooms bathroom and toilet are together and there is a kitchen - I would not prefer a room with kitchen bcs I thought it might not be clean enough). But my room was perfect for Africa city hotel standart for this reasonable price. The location also is perfect, you can walk in the city and around.

The thing is, generally in many hotels, the common areas like lobby, restaurants etc. are fancy and the rooms are worse. Here was the contrary. When I saw the lobby and the restaurant, I wasn't expecting such a room. The common areas are all very old, bad decorated and don't look clean. But nevermind them. The rooms are really more than ok for a tourist. Don't pay more for another hotel if you are only looking for clean and good located place to stay in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Choose a room without kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianHotelKenya, Guest Relations Manager at Meridian Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Swanilda,

Thank you for your compliments. We hope the next time you visit you shall have an even better experience.

Warm Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We checked into the Meridian Court Motel early one morning, following an overnight flight. Being tired and because the hotel was recommended at the airport, we paid without asking to see the room. Big mistake! One minute in the room and we immediately returned to the front desk to ask for a refund. The desk staff supposedly reimbursed my credit card, but said that they couldn't provide a receipt due to the nature of the bank they put the debit through. Another big mistake accepting this, but after 30 minutes of arguing about it we reluctantly left the hotel to seek other accommodation. In the last 7 weeks I have written to them three times and called them numerous times, but gotten little more than a run around about my reimbursement. Did I mention that after we left the hotel, we were followed to another hotel and hassled about leaving the Meridian Court Hotel? This individual was actually ushered out of that hotel by their staff because of his aggressive nature. Avoid the Meridian Court Hotel like the plague!!!!

Room Tip: Look at the room before you register
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianHotelKenya, Guest Relations Manager at Meridian Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Frank,

Please accept my apologies for the experience you underwent. We are happy to report that transaction was reversed.

Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here for one night only and we don't know the official rate because the hotel was booked for us by the overland tour company. Might have been a suite because we had a seperate lounge with TV, sofa, chairs, a small kitchen area and a large bedroom. The room was very clean, a little old maybe but still quite nice. Because we had to leave at 2:30am to get to the airport we didn't get the chance to have a look at the breakfast buffet or the pool. But we did try the inhouse restaurant and the food was surprisingly good, not too expensive and the service quick. Guys at the reception however are quite slow getting things organised especially if you want to use the safe. It's probably not the most luxurious place to stay but much better than we expected after reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor. It only took us 30 minutes to get to the airport at night, during daytime especially the rush hour it might very well take you a few hours though. Getting into Nairobi and to the Meridian it took us 2.5 hours to do 5km! Booking a taxi through the reception is a good idea because chances are good that you won't be taking an illegal cab.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meridian Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Court Hotel

Address: 6 Muranga Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meridian Court Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Meridian Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meridian Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.