We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will most likely stay here again next time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meridian Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Meridian Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meridian Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Muranga Road, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Visby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Will most likely stay here again next time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very nice and friendly hotel with everything you need. The rooms are suites with one bedroom and one living room plus a small kitchen. Very hard beds, but that's better than too soft. Nice restaurant in the building offering room service if you like. But the best thing was the very helpful and friendly staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    24
    14
    14
See reviews for
9
19
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

If getting the "basics" such as a working television, internet service, and the room sprayed for mosquitoes done in three days, this your type of "hotel"
Local staff is eager and friendly but can only do as much as they are allowed.
Don't bother trying to get hold of the guest relations manager, he DOES not excist!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joancollins69
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

as part of my safari this was my starting point so was booked in here for the eve. the staff were lovely esp the door man full of smiles. then i was shown the room and i had taken one step in and thought if i was examining this for a rental property id leave immidiately. the rooms are big and like a one bedroom flat; the kitchen was off putting at best, the bathroom clean and generous with water that works. the bed room large and good bed with a net. the lounge area tired and beyond shabby chique. the kitchen was for dinning was ok (staff lovely) and reedmed at breakfast; great spread. didnt do the pool and wifi was strong and free. no issues checking in or out. i would not stay here again despite lonely planet guide saying best value. location unsure to tired to venture out.

Room Tip: theres an all night disco on one side that kept fellow travellers up, my side was fine save for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoal bay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just back from Africa, ending with 3 memorable days at the grand old Meridian Court.
Having read reviews before we left we were a little apprehensive about staying there, but found our experience absolutely excellent!
Sure, it's ageing and in need of some expenditure and work, but refurbishment was happening while we were there, and we didn't have any complaints at all. Our room (Standard Double) was huge, with seperate living room and kitchen, all staff were friendly and courteous, and meals were varied and beautiful ... and the afternoons at the poolside bar on the roof were sooo relaxing.
What more could you ask for at the price, and within walking distance of incredible shopping, that close to the city?

Room Tip: We had a Standard Double room on the 4th floor overlooking the entrance. No complaints from us ...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is an excellent hotel in the central business district and value for money. I had stayed here for 3 nights. The breakfast was good with a mix of continental and Indian cuisine. The hotel staff was very good, courteous and helpful. Even the guard at the main entrance used to inquire where you are going after sunset showing concern and guide whether one should go there walking or take a taxi ( keeping in mind the way things work in Nairobi). The food is great especially the club sandwich and value for money. The hotel has a pool parlour, so you can play pool while having beer/snacks within the hotel in the evening in case you do not want to venture out. As i said the hotel is in the CBD, hence most of the things are at a stones throw away distance. The rooms are clean and spacious. My room had a living room as well and the sleep quality was quite good. This hotel has a rooftop swimming pool, however I had could not use since it was winter in Kenya.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and spent the second night in the bathroom with a tummy upset. I felt sorry for the people in the room next door. I only had breakfast at the hotel - a buffet with a small range of choices - but of course, I cannot say it was hotel food that caused my illness. The room consisted of a bedroom and separate shower, bathroom, and lounge room. However I did not feel like spending much time in the room; a dull colour scheme, stained linen, dusty carpet and the traffic noise meant that the balconies were un-usable. The bed was hard but this is common in Asia and Africa and the mosquito nets were put in place each afternoon. Staff were generally helpful but not overly friendly. There were renovations taking place on my floor during the day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed in this hotel as it was favorite with my company management but found all sort of malpractices in this. Prostitutes sitting in lobby/restaurants. Front desk guys always eager to rob you. Low IQ waiters in the restaurants who will always end with wrong dishes or will not come back to you at all. The only good thing about this hotel was the breakfast spread and of course the indian chef. God bless him.

Room Tip: Try to get some room in 680 hotel instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meridian Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Court Hotel

Address: 6 Muranga Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meridian Court Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Meridian Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meridian Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.