We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not choose this hotel again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meridian Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Meridian Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meridian Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Muranga Road, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Queanbeyan, Australia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Would not choose this hotel again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and spent the second night in the bathroom with a tummy upset. I felt sorry for the people in the room next door. I only had breakfast at the hotel - a buffet with a small range of choices - but of course, I cannot say it was hotel food that caused my illness. The room consisted of a bedroom and separate shower, bathroom, and lounge room. However I did not feel like spending much time in the room; a dull colour scheme, stained linen, dusty carpet and the traffic noise meant that the balconies were un-usable. The bed was hard but this is common in Asia and Africa and the mosquito nets were put in place each afternoon. Staff were generally helpful but not overly friendly. There were renovations taking place on my floor during the day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    24
    14
    14
See reviews for
9
19
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed in this hotel as it was favorite with my company management but found all sort of malpractices in this. Prostitutes sitting in lobby/restaurants. Front desk guys always eager to rob you. Low IQ waiters in the restaurants who will always end with wrong dishes or will not come back to you at all. The only good thing about this hotel was the breakfast spread and of course the indian chef. God bless him.

Room Tip: Try to get some room in 680 hotel instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

i have had the privilage of staying at the meridian court hotel,nairobi,many times during my visits to kenya.
it is a comfortable hotel,good clean rooms,nice indian food,great service,ideally located in prime business locality.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Harcourt, Nigeria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Meridian Hotel Nairobi has been a regular stopover for me on all my vacations in Nairobi Kenya.
The reason is because all the standard/double rooms have an ante-room, bedroom, toilet,
and shower (all seperate). Because of this I am most comfortable although I know of better
and costlier alternatives.
Secondly Meridian is situated on Muranga (I hope my geography of Nairobi is spot on) road
in the Central Business District part of Nairobi.
Thirdy the price range is about $100 USD range for a standard room. This for me is within
my budget.
For the afore reasons I have stuck to Meridian. However there are a few issues I have had to
put up with namely the styling of the rooms I find dated, the windows above the entrance doors
to some rooms have no mosquitio netting (I suffered the effects in the Easter of 2011), cabinet beds (comfortable) but so retro and no air conditioner (not really an issue since I live in much warmer climes).
Room Service is OK, the lift works, staff are courteous and friendly (including front desk) and room
service is fine.
I consider the rooms on the Second floor and above as suitable because on the first floor (I think)
the verandahs have anti-burglary bars which obscures the panoramic view from up. Then there is
the noise from the mosque to consider particularly on fridays which the first floor overlooks directly.
I have had to change rooms because of this more than once.
Summarily, a pleasing place to stay in that city for that price

PS: Happy to hear my next stay attracts a 10% discount.

REVIEWER: FURO MATTHEW KAMBI

Room Tip: Second floor and above are a must for standard/double rooms due to noise mainly from the mosque and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianHotelKenya, Guest Relations Manager at Meridian Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Furo,

Thank you for choosing Meridian over the years and taking time to give us your feedback. We are glad you love the location and the frienfliness of our staff. Over the past month, we have redone our door meshes to prevent mosquitos from getting into the rooms . we welcome any suggestions to help us improve our service and hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinja, Uganda
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Meridian Court Hotel is situated just of one of the main streets in Nairobi (Moi Avenue) so there is easy access to the city centre - within easy walking distance. The hotel is clean and spacious and one of my favourite facilities is that one gets a sitting room as well as a bedroom. The rooms are adequately furnished and clean. The staff are always friendly, welcoming and ready to help. Another aspect I like is that there is secure underground parking.
Breakfast is good, with a wide choice of foods for most tastes, although no pork products due to the religion of the owners, which I respect.
There is a great Indian restaurant on the ground floor which serves many delicious dishes.
The surroundings may not be the best in Nairobi but I have never felt unsafe either reaching or leaving the hotel, and with a taxi park just outside transport is easy.
I hope to be able to continue to use this hotel for any future visits to Nairobi as it offers good value for money.

Room Tip: I prefer a room looking over Muranga Road as in the past I have been disturbed early in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianHotelKenya, Guest Relations Manager at Meridian Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Johnk58,

Thank you for your kind sentiments and being with us for the past 20 years. You are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Meridian Court is located at a crossroads between the quieter and the less quieter CBD in Nairobi. Security from a Nairobian's perspective is great and being away from the prime establishment, it less likely to be on a terrorist's radar.
The reception area is spacious with all attendants more than willing to be of help, with a genuine smile to boot!
The room (deluxe double for this review) was fab. It is made of the bedroom and a lounge with a balcony. No spectacular views from the balcony but that added to the size of the room.
Room furniture was adequate with a huge refrigerator, settees, work desk and multiple well laced lights.
Sleep quality was superb and the bed was soft, cuddly and warm.
The breakfast serving range was not especially wide but was a little more than basic.
Overall experience was great. For only 110 dollars. Oh and a rooftop pool for residents.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianHotelKenya, Guest Relations Manager at Meridian Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Rapenda,

It is great to know you enjoyed your stay at the Meridian. As for the breakfast...we are open to suggestions on how to make it more exciting.

Thanks again for your kind comments.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My Dad and I stayed here and loved it! The rooms were simple but functional. The showers were really good had hot water and pressure. The bed is really hard but i got used to it. The staff here were super friendly and always willing to help! I didn't know there was a pool here... so that's a bit of a disappointment. However this hotel is in a great location and a walking distance from the National Archives, Nairobi National Museum and the train museum. Which are all great places to go to! The food here is really good and has great prices. The sweet and sour chicken is AMAZING!!!! A really excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianHotelKenya, Guest Relations Manager at Meridian Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear EmilyS,

Thank you for your comments about our staff. A number of our guests prefer hard beds, but we also have softer ones so that all our guests are comfortable. Please feel free to ask for a soft bed the next time you visit. Sorry you did not get to use the swimming pool. Information about the facilities is usually contained in the guest information pack found in the room, but we'll make sure it is more prominently displayed. As for the food, the chef appreciates your compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meridian Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Court Hotel

Address: 6 Muranga Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meridian Court Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Agoda, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Meridian Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meridian Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.