We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goodness Galore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meridian Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Meridian Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meridian Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Muranga Road, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Kisumu, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Goodness Galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Meridian Court is located at a crossroads between the quieter and the less quieter CBD in Nairobi. Security from a Nairobian's perspective is great and being away from the prime establishment, it less likely to be on a terrorist's radar.
The reception area is spacious with all attendants more than willing to be of help, with a genuine smile to boot!
The room (deluxe double for this review) was fab. It is made of the bedroom and a lounge with a balcony. No spectacular views from the balcony but that added to the size of the room.
Room furniture was adequate with a huge refrigerator, settees, work desk and multiple well laced lights.
Sleep quality was superb and the bed was soft, cuddly and warm.
The breakfast serving range was not especially wide but was a little more than basic.
Overall experience was great. For only 110 dollars. Oh and a rooftop pool for residents.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianHotelKenya, Guest Relations Manager at Meridian Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Rapenda,

It is great to know you enjoyed your stay at the Meridian. As for the breakfast...we are open to suggestions on how to make it more exciting.

Thanks again for your kind comments.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    24
    14
    14
See reviews for
9
19
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My Dad and I stayed here and loved it! The rooms were simple but functional. The showers were really good had hot water and pressure. The bed is really hard but i got used to it. The staff here were super friendly and always willing to help! I didn't know there was a pool here... so that's a bit of a disappointment. However this hotel is in a great location and a walking distance from the National Archives, Nairobi National Museum and the train museum. Which are all great places to go to! The food here is really good and has great prices. The sweet and sour chicken is AMAZING!!!! A really excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianHotelKenya, Guest Relations Manager at Meridian Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear EmilyS,

Thank you for your comments about our staff. A number of our guests prefer hard beds, but we also have softer ones so that all our guests are comfortable. Please feel free to ask for a soft bed the next time you visit. Sorry you did not get to use the swimming pool. Information about the facilities is usually contained in the guest information pack found in the room, but we'll make sure it is more prominently displayed. As for the food, the chef appreciates your compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Had an overnight stay at this hotel prior to an early morning departure from Nairobi. The hotel is fairly basic but our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff were helpful. Didn't make use of any facilities.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianHotelKenya, Guest Relations Manager at Meridian Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear NFJ999,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Meridian. We hope you'll get to stay longer next time and use the facilities.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We booked into the Nomad palace hotel and paid $50. On arriving at the airport we where told that this was a security risk and a very poor area by the taxi driver. The taxi driver then refered us to a tour operator in the airport and tour operator said same he booked us into a different hotel and showed us the brochure which was very nice. on arrival at the Meridian Hotel it was very run down, no air conditioning, fans or tee/coffee facilities. It was apparant that the rooms had not been cleaned for a very long time as everything was dirty. The bed was rock hard and the sheets burnt. Mosquito nets were grey with dirt and looked like they had never been washed. The food was inedibale and had to be sent back. We were made to pay for half the value of the total meal even though we had only tasted the soup.In general 15/20$ per night would be acceptable not 110$ bed only. Possibly the worst value hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past 10 to 12 years, I have watched with increasing apprehension and also a sense regret as the facilities within this aging and rather neglected building continue to deteriorate while the room rates climb relentlessly ever higher. Sad to say, but this establishment with its superb central location on the edge of downtown Nairobi, with convenient access to the main sites in the city core, is no longer a place that one should seriously consider unless one is prepared to put up with the obvious shortcomings. Regrettably, these are many and they are not being addressed by the hotel management. The rooms in the main are old and increasingly run down. While it is true that they are oversized and thus quite comfortable from the point of view of space, the state of the furnishings and the facilities in most is simply abysmal. Many reviewers have commented that the beds are rock hard. This they most certainly are. That, however, may not be a bad thing as some of us prefer a firm to a sagging mattress. The sheets and towels are changed daily by the caring and efficient housekeeping staff. However, there is absolutely no excuse for the wretched state of the hotel plumbing. In a word, it is simply dreadful. Every time a resident flushes a toilet, the resounding "clank" of the toilet valve shutting off the flow of water can be heard throughout the entire hotel. This is no exaggeration. And believe me, it is far from pleasant, especially at night or in the early morning, if the hotel is full and many people are using the facilities. Additionally, while there is always a reliable supply of hot water any time of the day or night, it is simply impossible in any of the rooms I have occupied over the years to efficiently regulate the water temperature during a shower. Your best bet: Have a bath in the enormous tub. Most rooms have one or more broken or non functioning electrical outlets; locks on patio/veranda doors are mostly inoperable; there is neither air conditioning nor an electric fan to help circulate the stifling Nairobi afternoon air which heats up the room forcing one to open the windows. This can be a problem inasmuch as the rooms facing the street are niosy even with doors and windows closed. There is also a mosquito problem at night but this can generally be dealt with by purchasing and liberally using "Tabard" mosquito repellant readily available in the shops. The restaurant remains for me a highlight of the hotel. The dining room manager, Leonard, goes out of his way to ensure that the needs of the guests are addressed by his efficient and friendly staff. I like the breakfast buffet and having experienced the dinner menu on a couple of occasions, it also gets top marks. Quality and price are, in a word, top notch. As always, the front desk staff anchored by Herman, Julius and Bernard among others is unfailingly friendly, hospitable and efficient. Perhaps I have been coming here for so long that they favour me with a special welcome, but my observations of the way they treat their other guests suggests that this is the norm. My biggest single complaint, and the one thing that will keep me away from the Meridian in the future is the detached, aloof, superior attitude that borders on the arrogant and downright unfriendly as displayed by the Indian family that owns and operates the Meridian. In a frank discussion with the owner over this very topic, I was told in no uncertain terms that he did not feel that it was his responsibility to take a personal interest in the well being or the satisfaction of the guests. That he said was the job of the staff. While on this subject, I would single out the wife of the owner as a particularly egregious example of this callous view. She skulks around the building barking orders at the staff and generally spreading misery everywhere she goes. It is upsetting as well as unsettling to the morale and the motivation of employees who take an observable pride in their jobs. It is a wonder that they stay, but given the employment situation in Kenya, one cannot afford to put one's job at risk by offending a dictatorial, arrogant superior even if he or she is clearly being unnecessarily heavy handed. Given the new 2012 room pricing structure and the continuing declining condition of the rooms, I have decided that there are better alternatives in the area. These observations are nothing an imaginative, committed and service oriented management could not remedy. The sad thing is that the current owners exhibit none of those things and therefore little or nothing will change in the immediate future. Allan H. Adams.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side or on the upper floors tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

After reading the reviews I was apprehensive but being on a low budget still went ahead and stayed here. I was pleasantly suprised - room clean and functionable, staff friendly and a fantastic location. For the room rate, good value and comfortable. Will be rebooking here in the future

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

This is a hotel located in the skyline of Nairobi city center. It is dated however the staff are very friendly and they offer good service. Of concern is the conditions of the rooms whic I must say need urgent renovations and overall cleanliness of the property.

Value for money is ok though do not expect to get 5 ster treatment at all. All in all a humble but good place to stay in.

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meridian Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Court Hotel

Address: 6 Muranga Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meridian Court Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Meridian Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meridian Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.