We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slipping badly with little prospect of improvement.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Meridian Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Meridian Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Meridian Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Muranga Road, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Ottawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Slipping badly with little prospect of improvement.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past 10 to 12 years, I have watched with increasing apprehension and also a sense regret as the facilities within this aging and rather neglected building continue to deteriorate while the room rates climb relentlessly ever higher. Sad to say, but this establishment with its superb central location on the edge of downtown Nairobi, with convenient access to the main sites in the city core, is no longer a place that one should seriously consider unless one is prepared to put up with the obvious shortcomings. Regrettably, these are many and they are not being addressed by the hotel management. The rooms in the main are old and increasingly run down. While it is true that they are oversized and thus quite comfortable from the point of view of space, the state of the furnishings and the facilities in most is simply abysmal. Many reviewers have commented that the beds are rock hard. This they most certainly are. That, however, may not be a bad thing as some of us prefer a firm to a sagging mattress. The sheets and towels are changed daily by the caring and efficient housekeeping staff. However, there is absolutely no excuse for the wretched state of the hotel plumbing. In a word, it is simply dreadful. Every time a resident flushes a toilet, the resounding "clank" of the toilet valve shutting off the flow of water can be heard throughout the entire hotel. This is no exaggeration. And believe me, it is far from pleasant, especially at night or in the early morning, if the hotel is full and many people are using the facilities. Additionally, while there is always a reliable supply of hot water any time of the day or night, it is simply impossible in any of the rooms I have occupied over the years to efficiently regulate the water temperature during a shower. Your best bet: Have a bath in the enormous tub. Most rooms have one or more broken or non functioning electrical outlets; locks on patio/veranda doors are mostly inoperable; there is neither air conditioning nor an electric fan to help circulate the stifling Nairobi afternoon air which heats up the room forcing one to open the windows. This can be a problem inasmuch as the rooms facing the street are niosy even with doors and windows closed. There is also a mosquito problem at night but this can generally be dealt with by purchasing and liberally using "Tabard" mosquito repellant readily available in the shops. The restaurant remains for me a highlight of the hotel. The dining room manager, Leonard, goes out of his way to ensure that the needs of the guests are addressed by his efficient and friendly staff. I like the breakfast buffet and having experienced the dinner menu on a couple of occasions, it also gets top marks. Quality and price are, in a word, top notch. As always, the front desk staff anchored by Herman, Julius and Bernard among others is unfailingly friendly, hospitable and efficient. Perhaps I have been coming here for so long that they favour me with a special welcome, but my observations of the way they treat their other guests suggests that this is the norm. My biggest single complaint, and the one thing that will keep me away from the Meridian in the future is the detached, aloof, superior attitude that borders on the arrogant and downright unfriendly as displayed by the Indian family that owns and operates the Meridian. In a frank discussion with the owner over this very topic, I was told in no uncertain terms that he did not feel that it was his responsibility to take a personal interest in the well being or the satisfaction of the guests. That he said was the job of the staff. While on this subject, I would single out the wife of the owner as a particularly egregious example of this callous view. She skulks around the building barking orders at the staff and generally spreading misery everywhere she goes. It is upsetting as well as unsettling to the morale and the motivation of employees who take an observable pride in their jobs. It is a wonder that they stay, but given the employment situation in Kenya, one cannot afford to put one's job at risk by offending a dictatorial, arrogant superior even if he or she is clearly being unnecessarily heavy handed. Given the new 2012 room pricing structure and the continuing declining condition of the rooms, I have decided that there are better alternatives in the area. These observations are nothing an imaginative, committed and service oriented management could not remedy. The sad thing is that the current owners exhibit none of those things and therefore little or nothing will change in the immediate future. Allan H. Adams.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side or on the upper floors tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    23
    14
    14
See reviews for
9
18
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

After reading the reviews I was apprehensive but being on a low budget still went ahead and stayed here. I was pleasantly suprised - room clean and functionable, staff friendly and a fantastic location. For the room rate, good value and comfortable. Will be rebooking here in the future

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

This is a hotel located in the skyline of Nairobi city center. It is dated however the staff are very friendly and they offer good service. Of concern is the conditions of the rooms whic I must say need urgent renovations and overall cleanliness of the property.

Value for money is ok though do not expect to get 5 ster treatment at all. All in all a humble but good place to stay in.

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

there are only few good parts- all rooms are big sized suite type with separate sitting area, staff is polite, they have a nice resident meeting lounge, restaurant offers decent indian food. but thats it, there is no air conditioning, mosquitoes are common, very average buffet breakfast, badly maintained rooms, broken handles, no shampoo in even deluxe room washrooms, the house keeping guy tricked us buying a simple 1 usd adapter for 10usd, they charge 20% for currency coversion and room service is slow. all in all, considering the price for other nairobi hotels, at less than usd 90 it was ok

Room Tip: dont go for basic rooms, they can offer discount on 2nd category rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianHotelKenya, Marketing agency at Meridian Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Meridian Hotel. We do appreciate your comments. We have noted your concerns and have discussed with all heads of departments to ensure that all services and facilities required by our clients and delivered to expectation. We apologise for the short comings and hope you host you again while in Nairobi.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatape, Colombia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

After a splurging night at Hilton, we had to go back to reality and Meridian Court was the best choice.

Location wasn't bad but not all safe. Not bad breakfast and free wifi was great.

For rooms, we paid just slightly little more for a deluxe suite. A living room with a bedroom with 4 poster bed and mosquito net. Bathroom wasnt bad. Toilet and shower separated in two sides next to the door. It was a little noisy from the street and when other guests walked in front of the room. (there are windows from bathroom opening to the hallway).

Overall not a big fan of the hotel. However, hotels in Nairobi is just so expensive that Meridian Court might be a good deal for mid range accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Why would anyone wish to stay at this disgusting, cannot bring myself to call it a hotel.! Needed a room for the night,asked Kairi Tours for reasonable, clean hotel, has Daniel ever visited this dump. Danson in reception is the only redeeming factor.The room noisy, taxi, bus rank & mosque. No hot water, toilet leaked, hard bed, no door handle & as for the "manager"! We had to leave, it was 10.15pm,as it was so bad, asked for a 50% refund, just got abused by the "manager" So it turned out to be very expensive, please avoid!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

On the outside this hotel appears to be a 5 star hotel however inside its a mess. The rooms are a joke television with no remote controls, roaches in some of the rooms, no air condition in double rooms or suites only a fan, and the staff at night is horrible. Breakfast, roaches are running on the table in the restaurant with the pasteries and bread. I have never seen such a horrible place to stay. The management and staff seem to careless about customer complaints. If you want bottle water to drink for breakfast you have to pay extra for water. Beware the owners have money to advertise in guide books (lonelyplantet.com) and magazines however do not have time to provide quality service. If you are traveling to Nairobi and are looking for a 5 star hotel go to the Sankara Hotel we were welcome there with 5 star service. The Sankara is a 5 star hotel that meets the standards of the US and other european countries. The Meridian is not fit for human beings to reside their. I won't even want anyone to stay there no one deserves such horrible conditions or service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianHotelKenya, Marketing agency at Meridian Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Dobare,
We do appreciate your feedback and apologize for your experience at our hotel. Due to Nairobi’s tropical location and altitude, most hotels do not find it necessary to have air conditioning. However, we provide fans at a guest’s request. We take your views seriously and try to ensure that our customers do not receive any kind of discomfort while visiting our hotel. We invite you to visit our hotel again and experience the difference.

Thanks & warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meridian Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Court Hotel

Address: 6 Muranga Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meridian Court Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Tingo, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Meridian Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meridian Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.