We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but good service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meridian Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Meridian Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Meridian Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Muranga Road, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dated but good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

This is a hotel located in the skyline of Nairobi city center. It is dated however the staff are very friendly and they offer good service. Of concern is the conditions of the rooms whic I must say need urgent renovations and overall cleanliness of the property.

Value for money is ok though do not expect to get 5 ster treatment at all. All in all a humble but good place to stay in.

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    23
    14
    14
See reviews for
9
18
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

there are only few good parts- all rooms are big sized suite type with separate sitting area, staff is polite, they have a nice resident meeting lounge, restaurant offers decent indian food. but thats it, there is no air conditioning, mosquitoes are common, very average buffet breakfast, badly maintained rooms, broken handles, no shampoo in even deluxe room washrooms, the house keeping guy tricked us buying a simple 1 usd adapter for 10usd, they charge 20% for currency coversion and room service is slow. all in all, considering the price for other nairobi hotels, at less than usd 90 it was ok

Room Tip: dont go for basic rooms, they can offer discount on 2nd category rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianHotelKenya, Marketing agency at Meridian Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Meridian Hotel. We do appreciate your comments. We have noted your concerns and have discussed with all heads of departments to ensure that all services and facilities required by our clients and delivered to expectation. We apologise for the short comings and hope you host you again while in Nairobi.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatape, Colombia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

After a splurging night at Hilton, we had to go back to reality and Meridian Court was the best choice.

Location wasn't bad but not all safe. Not bad breakfast and free wifi was great.

For rooms, we paid just slightly little more for a deluxe suite. A living room with a bedroom with 4 poster bed and mosquito net. Bathroom wasnt bad. Toilet and shower separated in two sides next to the door. It was a little noisy from the street and when other guests walked in front of the room. (there are windows from bathroom opening to the hallway).

Overall not a big fan of the hotel. However, hotels in Nairobi is just so expensive that Meridian Court might be a good deal for mid range accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Why would anyone wish to stay at this disgusting, cannot bring myself to call it a hotel.! Needed a room for the night,asked Kairi Tours for reasonable, clean hotel, has Daniel ever visited this dump. Danson in reception is the only redeeming factor.The room noisy, taxi, bus rank & mosque. No hot water, toilet leaked, hard bed, no door handle & as for the "manager"! We had to leave, it was 10.15pm,as it was so bad, asked for a 50% refund, just got abused by the "manager" So it turned out to be very expensive, please avoid!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

On the outside this hotel appears to be a 5 star hotel however inside its a mess. The rooms are a joke television with no remote controls, roaches in some of the rooms, no air condition in double rooms or suites only a fan, and the staff at night is horrible. Breakfast, roaches are running on the table in the restaurant with the pasteries and bread. I have never seen such a horrible place to stay. The management and staff seem to careless about customer complaints. If you want bottle water to drink for breakfast you have to pay extra for water. Beware the owners have money to advertise in guide books (lonelyplantet.com) and magazines however do not have time to provide quality service. If you are traveling to Nairobi and are looking for a 5 star hotel go to the Sankara Hotel we were welcome there with 5 star service. The Sankara is a 5 star hotel that meets the standards of the US and other european countries. The Meridian is not fit for human beings to reside their. I won't even want anyone to stay there no one deserves such horrible conditions or service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianHotelKenya, Marketing agency at Meridian Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Dobare,
We do appreciate your feedback and apologize for your experience at our hotel. Due to Nairobi’s tropical location and altitude, most hotels do not find it necessary to have air conditioning. However, we provide fans at a guest’s request. We take your views seriously and try to ensure that our customers do not receive any kind of discomfort while visiting our hotel. We invite you to visit our hotel again and experience the difference.

Thanks & warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

We only stayed one night before moving to a cheaper and MUCH nicer hotel.
The lobby is nice but then, yuck. The rooms are dated, the beds hard, the carpet grungy.
Loud...right near a mosque. Big disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeridianHotelKenya, Marketing agency at Meridian Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear TLA Orangeville,
Thank you for staying at the Meridian Hotel, your reviews are much appreciated. We truly apologize for the experience you had. It is our duty to ensure you receive value for your money. We have refurbished and renovated our rooms to meet high standards. We have room with carpets and others without as not all guests prefer carpeted rooms. We have installed sound proof window to curb the noise issue. Also, the surrounding clubs are forbidden from playing loud music due to the new environmental regulations in place. We thank you and we do hope you visit us once more to enjoy the new feel of the hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

I must say this hotel is not the best in nairobi. it is certainly not budget. we paid near 100 dollars for one night. the staff were very good to us when we complained and i feel did their best to look after us. but it certainly was a down point on our trip. i wont say what we saw on the 4th floor... one good thing to it is the central location in nairobi - ideal for shopping, (we got great deals). lol

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meridian Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Court Hotel

Address: 6 Muranga Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meridian Court Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Tingo, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Meridian Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meridian Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.