We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money and central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parklands Shade Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parklands Shade Hotel
Ojijo Road, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Calne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money and central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I've stayed here several times now and can't fault the rooms which are excellent value at around 2,000 shillings a night (under £18 Sterling - I'm English), clean and neat and with ensuite showers & even gel. A bit like a Kenyan version of the UK Travelodge. They are a little worn but adequate for the money with colour TV too and you can ask for a mosquito net over the standard double beds (which I recommend, better safe...). The staff are friendly and helpful (but this isn't a 5* hotel, so don't leave valuables lying about and don't trust their safe, keep them on you). The hotel part is set back from a large entertainment area, which can be noisy with music late into the night, but the otherwise busy day-time traffic noise dies off at night so a good night's sleep is possible after midnight. The rooms have fans but not air con. The local taxis are good and there's a guard on the gates at all times, so security is good too within the hotel grounds. It's safe enough to risk a late night walk to the Casino up the road (if you win big, they happily provide a car back) or during the day to the Sarit centre, a large Mall with free wi-fi at the cafe in the basement (open to 6pm) and a range of food outlets, supermarket and shops, and a decent cinema. The best walk is the 15 mins in the early morning south into town to the main Kenyan museum where the best coffee and breakfast can be found, in the cafe in the grounds - a real oasis in the city. The museum is one of the best in Africa albeit entrance is pricey for a backpacker (you can get to the cafe for free). You can get a taxi back for about a fiver, or a matatu for 20p, but be warned they've built a dual carriageway right across the front of the museum so you take your life in your hands crossing it, and the routes are changing so you must make sure you get the right one back - the girls in the cafe will help you. As for the food at the hotel, this comes from the next door disco/bar and is cheap and good, the local Tusker beer is great and there's always someone around to talk to, as well as dancing late night. It's also possible to save money by taking the ridiculously cheap matatu buses into town for a meal, though I recommend a taxi back from the restaurant - never walk in town late at night. Only downside is there is no swimming pool, but if you go to the Jacaranda Hotel opposite the Sarit centre (a 20 min walk north) and have a meal or beer there, they will let you cool off in their lovely pool in the afternoon for free (you can change there, don't ever just turn up in trunks and flip-flops!). There's plenty of shops selling everything around, plus a genuine bazaar where you can haggle and buy tourist souvenirs. So all in all a great little place to stay if you're on a budget, and one of the safer sides of town (the British embassy and others are also nearby).

Room Tip: Make sure you check out your room before booking in, they can vary in quality of decor - don't b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This is an odd little hotel. It is in Westlands (busy, leafy, mostly Asian, outskirts of Nairobi) and set at the end of a side road . The hotel itself has two main floors. Some of the rooms look like a 1960's movie set with traffic cone orange plastic chairs and formica desks. I have stayed here three times in the last three years. The rooms are spacious with built-in cupboards for your clothes. The bathrooms are also large but lots of stuff doesn't quite work right. Once the tiolet would not stop running, and in another room the seal around the tiolet was wobbly and leaked a bit. They have a instant-on hot water system augmented with solar panels heated water so some rooms at some parts of the day have hot water and others not so much. The stuff is helpful but the feeling one gets is that the hotel owners or management don't want to invest a lot in the property. There is certainly soem nightlife close to the hotel with K1 around the corner and a decent nama choma house with live music next door at Plums.

The place is cheap, the rooms are big, the furnishings will either endear you or dismay you. It can be a good base for someone who knows Nairobi and just wants a safe place to sleep. I would not reccomend it for first time visitors, those with kids (too much night time in and outs if you know what I mean), or picky folks.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011 via mobile

the stay was cool. I met lots of kind people and indeed had fun everyday. I love the mbuzi ulaya! The wednesday ladies night was great... I got a free cocktail from a dude called Ryan.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiambu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

Kate,Kiambu,Kenya.

It was the weekend before X-mas and decided to book maself

in this hotel for a week to start ma holiday.

l liked it most because it was very near the city centre and

there service was really good and not to forget very delicious food.

Had a wonderful time and look forward to go there again.

  • Liked — It's Simplicity
  • Disliked — l guess nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldoret, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2007

I recently attended a two week seminar in nairobi and spent my entire stay at this hotel. The rooms were quite affordable, clean and simple. The best part was that it is a few minutes from town and it has very nice bars. the food was also quite good. i definitely recommend this hotel for it's 'all-under-a-roof' services!!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maputo
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

A taxi took me to the parlklands shade hotel from the airport. It was resonably priced and the staff were good until i left my possesions for their safe keeping and they switched my dollars with fake ones. Then my nightmare began in nairobi the staff were not friendly anymore and were uncooparative. The kenyan police were nice but am still waiting for a refund or communication from the hotel.

If you leave your possesions make sure you have serial numbers or just take your chance and carry everything with you.

  • Liked — proximity to the city centre and they have a nice pub
  • Disliked — the rooms were really old fashioned
  • Tips/Secrets — Keep your money with you at all times
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parklands Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklands Shade Hotel

Address: Ojijo Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 92 hotels in Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parklands Shade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Parklands Shade Hotel to your Saves list