We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but fine for a couple of nights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkside Hotel
Save Saved
You added Parkside Hotel to your Saves list
Monrovia Street, Nairobi 00100 , Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Basic, but fine for a couple of nights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

A great location near a 24 hour shopping centre, ATMs, banks, coffee shops and eateries and the market.

The rooms were clean and the water hot (eventually).

Very basic accomodation yet perfect for a night or 2 before heading off on safari

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    25
    13
    3
See reviews for
6
20
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitcat22
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I've stayed here many times because it had been safe, convenient, and clean. Never particularly friendly or service oriented. But now, the mold growing on the shower walls and the increased prices has pushed me to the limit. Time to find a better place with value and cleanliness.
Friday nights are very noisy. Ear plugs, Ambien, etc. are essential.

Room Tip: On Fridays, ask for the street side to avoid the worst of the bar noise. However, the street side ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel. I happened to be travelling alone in Nairobi before going on a safari and this was the hotel that the tour company recommended. As a female solo traveller, it was definitely not a good choice. I didn't feel very safe, but the location of the hotel was convenient. I was going to use the shower, but as soon as I turned the water on, the shower head popped off and there was water spraying everywhere which cause the bathroom floor to be wet. Not to mention, there were cockroaches in the room. I slept under the mosquito net and it was fine. There is a restaurant attached to it and the food was okay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Parkside Hotel for a few days. The price for a room without breakfast is 3'500 KSH (25GBP), which is quite expensive for what this hotel offered. The staff is OK, no complaints there, the rooms are clean-ish and the showers are hot-ish. Cleanliness is very dependent on the rooms, we stayed in one room that had a load of roaches and in another that had too many mosquitoes. Overall, the BEST part about this place is the LOCATION. Smack in the center of Nairobi, you are a 30 second walk away from the nearest shopping center which includes banks, ATMs and etc. The restaurant next door offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bus ticket sales offices and tour agencies surround this area. There is a lot of noise coming from the near-by bar, but we were able to sleep just fine. WiFi is also great.

Room Tip: You may be able to ask for a room in the quieter side of the hotel if the noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We booked this hotel through a local travel company and paid way too much. The room and bed were the smallest we encountered in a three/four star category. Also we made the unfortunate decision to stay on a Saturday night. There was a nightclub very close by as well as another one a little further away. Hence we had loud bass thumping music all through the evening and into the night. The volume did drop but was still way too loud when we wanted to go to bed.

Also the toilet didn't work, reception kindly gave us a bucket to fill up in the shower so that we could flush. In addition the hot water taps didn't work. But wait there was an answer, after turning on the hot water heater which is quite standard in a number of African Hotels, you turn on the cold tap a little and then get hot water. You moderate the temperature by turning on the cold tap further and the temperature cools. Disingeneous really!

Another small issue is that they don't supply any complementary water and were unable to supply water from reception. Could be a problem if one arrives late.

Otherwise breakfast is in a restaurant nearby. Breakfast was fine but was served ala carte which made things a bit slower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the nightclub noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

They say comparisons are odious but it is hard not to compare what you get for your money in a Kenyan budget hotel compared with other parts of the world. And at that level disappointing is an understatement.
The best that can be said for the Parkside hotel is that it is right at the edge of the city so a 9 for convenience with low cost eating places, supermarkets and banks close by.
As for the hotel, the staff are something less than eager or helpful. I always carry a lightglobe visiting Kenya as budget hotels have such low wattage globes that you can barely see. I also carry a small electric jug as the notion of providing any such conveniences in Kenyan budget rooms has not occurred to managements.
The room was kept clean by staff who could give the desk people a few tips on how to treat visitors.
The bathroom had the weirdest little attachment to the shower and string cord for `heating' which provided about 20 seconds of warm water.
I have been visiting Kenya on and off for 30 years and the budget end of the accomodation hotels have not improved one iota.
So, hope for the best but prepare for the worst.

Room Tip: Look at the room first before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here for one night as a stop over before embarking on a safari tour. Maybe I was unlucky, but I wouldn't personally want to stay here for longer than that. The lady in reception was rude and barely spoke to me, the hotel was noisy, I had to stand in the shower to get the sink, and I never felt quite able to relax. On the plus side. There was a mosquito net provided, the room was clean, and there was hot water from the shower. I decided that there no doubt are better options available in Nairobi at maybe $20 more a night, and I'd sooner pay the little extra and have a better experience. Overall I can't recommend it unless you're absolutely trying to save every penny.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Hotel

Address: Monrovia Street, Nairobi 00100 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The operators of this comfortable mid-range hotel place great importance on the well-being of their guests with the reception being open around the clock. The hotel has a total of 68 rooms (28 single rooms, 20 double rooms). The hotel is located in direct proximity to the airport (5.0 km). Your accommodation is easy to reach as it is located directly adjacent to the motorway. Safes are available at reception and in your room to hold your valuables. There's no chance of boredom in this hotel. The hotel's casino and disco will cater for your entertainment needs. You can hire a car direct from the hotel, and park it on the hotel's car park during your stay. Feel free to enjoy room service or the wake-up facility when staying at the hotel. The hotel operates a suite of business facilities. All rooms have air conditioning, and also offer other facilities such as cable TV, Internet access and a hairdryer in the bathroom. Do you want to book a non-smoking room? Are you traveling with your family and do you need a cot? We will gladly cater for your wishes - please indicate them when booking your room. The minibar in your room contains many tasty things. Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy a relaxing massage. All kinds of delicacies can be served in the hotel's restaurant (with tables outdoors) and bistro, with specialties for vegetarians and diabetics, too. The hotel bar has a large selection of drinks for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.