We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkside Hotel
Monrovia Street, Nairobi 00100 , Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Decent enough accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

After getting off the plane, Stayed here for one night before travlling 300 miles north the next day,The Hotel is right in the middle of Nairobi aswell with everything you could need. It was very clean and Mosquito nets are provided although probably not needed which is good. Nice hot water in showers and very friendly staff when checking in and out. Can's ask for more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    24
    13
    3
See reviews for
6
19
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This "hotel" is right next to the shuttles to Arusha. You can literally walk out the door and before pointing at a shuttle one of the touts will try and sell you a ticket on one of them. No need to book shuttle in advance if you're flying in the night before, just haggle a decent price the morning of departure.

The hotel itself is not great. On our entire trip through east africa it was the most expensive place we stayed and aside from one particular tent it was the worst place. We did have running water and a hot shower with water pressure but the room itself is old, small, and loud. If you have problems sleeping in noise, don't stay here. Beds need new linens, blankets without holes, a really good cleaning, etc. The woman at reception is everything but friendly (seems to be a Kenyan service thing, or lack there-of in this country). Prices may be quoted in dollars but they really don't want to accept them and prefer Kenyan shillings, you also get a better price paying in shillings.

If you're only here one night and it's convienient for you to stay here it was an ok room. If you're planning on staying more than one night in Nairobi, stay somewhere else. Expensive, for budget travellers, such as our selves, and doesn't buy you any of the things that a hotel at this price will get you everywhere else in the country and surrounding countries. We paid less the rest of our trip and got twice as much in quality or more else where.

I'll find a different place to stay next trip to Nairobi downtown.

Room Tip: Don't let them swindle you into a big room you don't need as the receptionist will try. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed in that hotel 3 or 4 times for 1 to 5 nights.

Two good things about the place: central location and cheap price. It's also pretty clean, and the staff is ok. But don't count on high class comfort. The rooms are very very modest, although well-maintained. They are usually small, there is hardly much space to move around your bed. By the way, beds are not too uncomfortable and clean. Bathrooms are ok too.

What I quite like about the place is that you can always reserve a room by phone and the staff is pretty responsive that way.

The building is 4 stories high, almost all rooms are located on the 2nd floor and higher. Stairs are pretty narrow, and they don't have an elevator. So count on that.

And one more thing: DO NOT go for a walk in Jeevanjee Gardens - the park that contributed to the name of the hotel. If you do, all you will find is people sleeping on the benches and on the grass (a lot of them), and a large garbage dump in the bushes...

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a quieter part of the building, and you won't here noises in the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Parkside Hotel is right in the heart of the action in Nairobi and only a short walk fropm many attractions. As mentioned by other reviewers it is good for a night maybe two. We arrived late afternoon witout a booking and had no problem securing a room.
The hotel is showing it's age, but I believe still offer excellent value compared to other hotels nearby. We had a trplie room for one night and it cost 3500KS($41) without breakfast. The rooms are basic but still had they reasonable linnen and even a TV! The bathroom was a little grubby, suspect hotwater system but acceptable, once again considering the price.
We had room 312 at the rear of the hotel and it overlooked the bar in the lane behind and was quite noisey until the music turned down at midnight. That being said we slept sleep well as we had an action packed day.
The staff were excellent and it was no problem to leave our luggae in a secure storeage room at reception until our flight in the evening. They even had a room which we could change our clothes in before the flight.
All in all a good experience!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side sections of the hotel to avoid street or lane noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed at Parkside Hotel during a recent visit to Nairobi, Kenya I traveled solo and felt safe at this hotel.

I stayed at Parkside after my return from my climb up Mt. Kilimanjaro. What reviewer didn't revealed is that this hotel doesn't have an elevator. Which wouldn't have been an issue if I hadn't just come from a 6 day trek 19,000 feet about sea level. My slow climb up 3 flights of stairs to avoid being next to or near the bar was a bit of a challenging. No elevator meant the nice doorman had to carry all my gear ( I over packed) to my room.

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant or computer room. I went across the street to Kenya Comfort hotel to use their computer which they charge by minute but is wasn't working. The room had a mosquito net for each bed. Which I found to be common at all the hotels I stayed at during my visit.

I found the room to be clean and comfortable for the money. The room was very basic. I just needed a safe place to sleep and shower. . Kenya Comfort Hotel is across the street and their rates are $20.00 plus higher. I paid with U.S. dollars and was able to save $15.00. Otherwise, they are basically the same hotel. The only real difference between the two is the fact that Kenya Comfort has an elevator and a computer lab. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the bar/club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights...central location...shopping malls / Market place / currency exchanges very near by... very basic facilities.. only one electric changing point in room that too not easily accessible ... hot water only in shower...restaurant was under repair...overall only good for overnight stop over...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed here for two nights...once at the beginning and once at the end of the holiday. Just a convenient stopover to fit in with flights. It is clean, comfortable and we did not find it too noisy. The staff were fine and for the money it was exactly what we expected. Paid 2700 shillings each time for double room.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parkside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Hotel

Address: Monrovia Street, Nairobi 00100 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The operators of this comfortable mid-range hotel place great importance on the well-being of their guests with the reception being open around the clock. The hotel has a total of 68 rooms (28 single rooms, 20 double rooms). The hotel is located in direct proximity to the airport (5.0 km). Your accommodation is easy to reach as it is located directly adjacent to the motorway. Safes are available at reception and in your room to hold your valuables. There's no chance of boredom in this hotel. The hotel's casino and disco will cater for your entertainment needs. You can hire a car direct from the hotel, and park it on the hotel's car park during your stay. Feel free to enjoy room service or the wake-up facility when staying at the hotel. The hotel operates a suite of business facilities. All rooms have air conditioning, and also offer other facilities such as cable TV, Internet access and a hairdryer in the bathroom. Do you want to book a non-smoking room? Are you traveling with your family and do you need a cot? We will gladly cater for your wishes - please indicate them when booking your room. The minibar in your room contains many tasty things. Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy a relaxing massage. All kinds of delicacies can be served in the hotel's restaurant (with tables outdoors) and bistro, with specialties for vegetarians and diabetics, too. The hotel bar has a large selection of drinks for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Parkside Hotel to your Saves list