We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inhumane Staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkside Hotel
Monrovia Street, Nairobi 00100 , Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Inhumane Staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The staff were completely inhumane. How could they treat an expectant mother in such a manner. Had paid up for an entire weeks stay but developed a complication and had to leave immediately. The staff however did not care to listen a bit as they rejected her pleas for a refund of even a single day.
Oh what a shame!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    24
    13
    3
See reviews for
6
19
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed in Room 104, a standard single with en-suite bathroom with hot water and no TV for 2,000 KES. The room rates are well-posted and non-negotiable, as far as I can. The room was spartan but clean and relatively quiet; I slept well both nights. This hotel is located near the City Market and the CBD. I would recommend it if you are on a budget and want to stay in the city center. It is well run and maintained. It is also very convenient location to catch the 0800 shuttles to Arusha and Moshi. I paid 1,400 KES for taxis between the hotel and the airport.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Balancing the budget at the end of our trip we stayed across the road from nearby Kenya Comfort and saved over half the cost. However, only one of our four rooms reported hot water for the shower while my room was compact to say the least and the bar was far less inviting.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel appeared to overlook a small quieter street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas m, Manager at Parkside Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Parkside is a old but good budget hotel near the city center.
You are close to the market, Nakumat, bars and restaurants, and just outside do you find taxis and shuttles.
The rooms are small and clean, but some noise from the bar behind the hotel.
Staff was always friendly
Wouldn't stay here for a longer periode
THANKYOU FOR YOUR POSITIVE REVIEW WE ARE GLAND YOU WERE HAPPY TO STAY WITH US, WELCOME SOMEOTHER TIME
DOUGLAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerteminde, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Parkside is a old but good budget hotel near the city center.
You are close to the market, Nakumat, bars and restaurants, and just outside do you find taxis and shuttles.
The rooms are small and clean, but some noise from the bar behind the hotel.
Staff was always friendly
Wouldn't stay here for a longer periode

Room Tip: Couldn't find any Wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed in this hotel accidently because the nearby Delta which was originally booked for us happened to be full. Well, a double room in Delta cost us 80 USD another night and a double room in Parkside was only 2500 shilling (around 30 USD) and I did not find much difference in hotels quality; so I was even upset that we did not stay in Parkside from the beginning.

The location is great: central, secure, pleasant garden in front of hotel; nearby there are many cafes and shops and Nakumat supermarket 5 min walk away.
Our room was spacious (with two beds) and clean. The water in the shower was not very hot but maybe I did not manage to fix it properly. There is no breakfast, so we went to a cafe in the area, which was no problem at all. The staff seemed nice to me; the receptionist let us use her mobile phone to call our agent to inform that we changed the hotel; overall they were helpful.

For budget travellers I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Parkside is a good budget hotel near the city center. You are close to the market, Nakumat, bars and restaurants . The rooms are small but clean, and they clean up the stairs and the hall every morning. You find just outside taxis, shuttles offices, forex, but don\t expect more than you pay.
Staff was always friendly

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Upon first entering, the place looks like a dive. The entrance is small and it's easy to miss the sign. Corridor wasn't brightly lit and it's a pay-cash-in-advance type of place. It seemed rather full when I was there, with a steady stream of all sorts of people going in and out .

The rooms themselves had old furniture and very old linens but it was reasonably clean and there was more than enough space. There was a switch to turn on hot water for a shower. This basically made the freezing water not cold, but never actually got hot.

The downtown area is convenient for shopping, eating, bars, etc. but there are constant touts right outside the door. There's a really loud bar that plays music past midnight just behind the hotel. Reception was always professional and courteous and the guards were always friendly.

Overall, this isn't a bad choice for the price you pay. Wouldn't recommend it for a leisurely holiday but for a night or two it's not a bad option.

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parkside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Hotel

Address: Monrovia Street, Nairobi 00100 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The operators of this comfortable mid-range hotel place great importance on the well-being of their guests with the reception being open around the clock. The hotel has a total of 68 rooms (28 single rooms, 20 double rooms). The hotel is located in direct proximity to the airport (5.0 km). Your accommodation is easy to reach as it is located directly adjacent to the motorway. Safes are available at reception and in your room to hold your valuables. There's no chance of boredom in this hotel. The hotel's casino and disco will cater for your entertainment needs. You can hire a car direct from the hotel, and park it on the hotel's car park during your stay. Feel free to enjoy room service or the wake-up facility when staying at the hotel. The hotel operates a suite of business facilities. All rooms have air conditioning, and also offer other facilities such as cable TV, Internet access and a hairdryer in the bathroom. Do you want to book a non-smoking room? Are you traveling with your family and do you need a cot? We will gladly cater for your wishes - please indicate them when booking your room. The minibar in your room contains many tasty things. Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy a relaxing massage. All kinds of delicacies can be served in the hotel's restaurant (with tables outdoors) and bistro, with specialties for vegetarians and diabetics, too. The hotel bar has a large selection of drinks for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Parkside Hotel to your Saves list