We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic on a budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkside Hotel
Save Saved
You added Parkside Hotel to your Saves list
Monrovia Street, Nairobi 00100 , Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Kerteminde, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Basic on a budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Parkside is a old but good budget hotel near the city center.
You are close to the market, Nakumat, bars and restaurants, and just outside do you find taxis and shuttles.
The rooms are small and clean, but some noise from the bar behind the hotel.
Staff was always friendly
Wouldn't stay here for a longer periode

Room Tip: Couldn't find any Wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    25
    13
    3
See reviews for
6
20
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed in this hotel accidently because the nearby Delta which was originally booked for us happened to be full. Well, a double room in Delta cost us 80 USD another night and a double room in Parkside was only 2500 shilling (around 30 USD) and I did not find much difference in hotels quality; so I was even upset that we did not stay in Parkside from the beginning.

The location is great: central, secure, pleasant garden in front of hotel; nearby there are many cafes and shops and Nakumat supermarket 5 min walk away.
Our room was spacious (with two beds) and clean. The water in the shower was not very hot but maybe I did not manage to fix it properly. There is no breakfast, so we went to a cafe in the area, which was no problem at all. The staff seemed nice to me; the receptionist let us use her mobile phone to call our agent to inform that we changed the hotel; overall they were helpful.

For budget travellers I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Parkside is a good budget hotel near the city center. You are close to the market, Nakumat, bars and restaurants . The rooms are small but clean, and they clean up the stairs and the hall every morning. You find just outside taxis, shuttles offices, forex, but don\t expect more than you pay.
Staff was always friendly

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Upon first entering, the place looks like a dive. The entrance is small and it's easy to miss the sign. Corridor wasn't brightly lit and it's a pay-cash-in-advance type of place. It seemed rather full when I was there, with a steady stream of all sorts of people going in and out .

The rooms themselves had old furniture and very old linens but it was reasonably clean and there was more than enough space. There was a switch to turn on hot water for a shower. This basically made the freezing water not cold, but never actually got hot.

The downtown area is convenient for shopping, eating, bars, etc. but there are constant touts right outside the door. There's a really loud bar that plays music past midnight just behind the hotel. Reception was always professional and courteous and the guards were always friendly.

Overall, this isn't a bad choice for the price you pay. Wouldn't recommend it for a leisurely holiday but for a night or two it's not a bad option.

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Parkside Hotel is decent value for the money. The rooms are pretty comfortable, and the hot water is reliable. The staff, however, are a drawback: indifferent at best, surly at worst. There is a bar/restaurant next door which is VERY loud at night, with blaring music and the booming voices of boozy revelers, which is annoying. As far as I can tell, there isn't a hotel in this area that is not noisy at night, but Parkside was the noisiest of the three downtown hotels I've stayed in.

I'd stay at Parkside again, but it's not my first choice in downtown Nairobi, mostly because of the unfriendly staff and the amount of noise at night. However, I wouldn't tell anybody to stay away from Parkside: if you're on a budget and you want to stay downtown, it's a reasonable option.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitcat22
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Desk staff could use some "hospitality classes" to develop a warm, welcoming demeanor. The cleaning staff are most kind and helpful should you have any issues. It's an old building, so don't expect new/fancy. But I always feel safe there, and I've stayed 6 or 8 times in the past few years.
Restaurant affiliate is immediately next door.
You can walk to the Norfolk Hotel if you want a taste of luxury but you won't find luxe at Parkside.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

There are few different rooms in the hotel, so worth checking. We were slipping there twice. For 25$ you have quite a big room with mosquito net and hot water. Pricier rooms have also tv, but who would need that?
Area of the hotel is quite ok. There are buses to Arusha across the hotel and it's 10 minutes walk to most bus companies in the area. There are numerous choices for food around, also there's a big shopping center. I consider area and hotel safe, we were walking around in the evening/night. There are just few touts.
In general, I recommend as a good budget option in Nairobi.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Hotel

Address: Monrovia Street, Nairobi 00100 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The operators of this comfortable mid-range hotel place great importance on the well-being of their guests with the reception being open around the clock. The hotel has a total of 68 rooms (28 single rooms, 20 double rooms). The hotel is located in direct proximity to the airport (5.0 km). Your accommodation is easy to reach as it is located directly adjacent to the motorway. Safes are available at reception and in your room to hold your valuables. There's no chance of boredom in this hotel. The hotel's casino and disco will cater for your entertainment needs. You can hire a car direct from the hotel, and park it on the hotel's car park during your stay. Feel free to enjoy room service or the wake-up facility when staying at the hotel. The hotel operates a suite of business facilities. All rooms have air conditioning, and also offer other facilities such as cable TV, Internet access and a hairdryer in the bathroom. Do you want to book a non-smoking room? Are you traveling with your family and do you need a cot? We will gladly cater for your wishes - please indicate them when booking your room. The minibar in your room contains many tasty things. Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy a relaxing massage. All kinds of delicacies can be served in the hotel's restaurant (with tables outdoors) and bistro, with specialties for vegetarians and diabetics, too. The hotel bar has a large selection of drinks for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.