We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money you pay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkside Hotel
Monrovia Street, Nairobi 00100 , Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Craiova
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good for the money you pay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Parkside is a good budget hotel near the city center. You are close to the market, Nakumat, bars and restaurants . The rooms are small but clean, and they clean up the stairs and the hall every morning. You find just outside taxis, shuttles offices, forex, but don\t expect more than you pay.
Staff was always friendly

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    24
    13
    3
See reviews for
6
19
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Upon first entering, the place looks like a dive. The entrance is small and it's easy to miss the sign. Corridor wasn't brightly lit and it's a pay-cash-in-advance type of place. It seemed rather full when I was there, with a steady stream of all sorts of people going in and out .

The rooms themselves had old furniture and very old linens but it was reasonably clean and there was more than enough space. There was a switch to turn on hot water for a shower. This basically made the freezing water not cold, but never actually got hot.

The downtown area is convenient for shopping, eating, bars, etc. but there are constant touts right outside the door. There's a really loud bar that plays music past midnight just behind the hotel. Reception was always professional and courteous and the guards were always friendly.

Overall, this isn't a bad choice for the price you pay. Wouldn't recommend it for a leisurely holiday but for a night or two it's not a bad option.

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Parkside Hotel is decent value for the money. The rooms are pretty comfortable, and the hot water is reliable. The staff, however, are a drawback: indifferent at best, surly at worst. There is a bar/restaurant next door which is VERY loud at night, with blaring music and the booming voices of boozy revelers, which is annoying. As far as I can tell, there isn't a hotel in this area that is not noisy at night, but Parkside was the noisiest of the three downtown hotels I've stayed in.

I'd stay at Parkside again, but it's not my first choice in downtown Nairobi, mostly because of the unfriendly staff and the amount of noise at night. However, I wouldn't tell anybody to stay away from Parkside: if you're on a budget and you want to stay downtown, it's a reasonable option.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitcat22
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Desk staff could use some "hospitality classes" to develop a warm, welcoming demeanor. The cleaning staff are most kind and helpful should you have any issues. It's an old building, so don't expect new/fancy. But I always feel safe there, and I've stayed 6 or 8 times in the past few years.
Restaurant affiliate is immediately next door.
You can walk to the Norfolk Hotel if you want a taste of luxury but you won't find luxe at Parkside.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

There are few different rooms in the hotel, so worth checking. We were slipping there twice. For 25$ you have quite a big room with mosquito net and hot water. Pricier rooms have also tv, but who would need that?
Area of the hotel is quite ok. There are buses to Arusha across the hotel and it's 10 minutes walk to most bus companies in the area. There are numerous choices for food around, also there's a big shopping center. I consider area and hotel safe, we were walking around in the evening/night. There are just few touts.
In general, I recommend as a good budget option in Nairobi.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed in this hotel twice at the end of November and early December 2010, each for one night (or few hours) due to the arrival and departure times of my flight. When I booked it I knew that it was a budget hotel and I wasn't expecting much. I booked it because I was going to sleep only for 3-4 hours due to my flight times so I didn't want to spend much money on the hotel in Nairobi.

The location is good, it's very close to the center. Unfortunately the rooms (both rooms I've stayed in) were not clean, the linen and the sheet were almost grey (maybe not dirt but due to stain, but it looks bad). The shower and the toilet was awfull. The rooms are small.

So, if you're a backpacker or a real budget traveler then it's ok, but you should be ready for everything and lower all your expectations.

Burak from Istanbul

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

we did not have any great expectations about this hotel because of the low price in relation to its location-right on the edge of the downtown core. The rooms were clean and the facilities acceptable due to the price range. The people who worked there however were unfriendly, unhelpful and downright rude! The only person who I cannot question his customer service skills is the nightly doorman who helped us with the luggage when we arrived and answered all my questions satisfactorily. The front desk is the worst..one day I left the hotel for ten minutes and my wife was still in bed and I specifically asked the front desk not to give the key to the cleaners since someone is still in the room sleeping, but they still did and my wife woke up to find a cleaner standing in the room confused . Then when it came time to check out, my wife had to do it on her own as I was away attending to something else. The staff watched her carry 6 suitcases down three floors(no elevators in the building), on her own without offering any assistance. This was during the day so the night doorman wasn't there. Then the worst of it came when they disputed that we had paid for the last night of stay there and demanded for receipt as proof. My wife went through all six suitcases looking for the receipt and finally found the receipt in the garbage can back in the room, and only then did they let her leave. This is despite the fact that when we paid for the room, they typed up something in the computer and kept a copy of the receipt. Needless to say, i cannot recommend this hotel to anyone. Its such a pity because its a nice budget hotel and boasts of an almost perfect location in downtown Nairobi.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parkside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Hotel

Address: Monrovia Street, Nairobi 00100 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The operators of this comfortable mid-range hotel place great importance on the well-being of their guests with the reception being open around the clock. The hotel has a total of 68 rooms (28 single rooms, 20 double rooms). The hotel is located in direct proximity to the airport (5.0 km). Your accommodation is easy to reach as it is located directly adjacent to the motorway. Safes are available at reception and in your room to hold your valuables. There's no chance of boredom in this hotel. The hotel's casino and disco will cater for your entertainment needs. You can hire a car direct from the hotel, and park it on the hotel's car park during your stay. Feel free to enjoy room service or the wake-up facility when staying at the hotel. The hotel operates a suite of business facilities. All rooms have air conditioning, and also offer other facilities such as cable TV, Internet access and a hairdryer in the bathroom. Do you want to book a non-smoking room? Are you traveling with your family and do you need a cot? We will gladly cater for your wishes - please indicate them when booking your room. The minibar in your room contains many tasty things. Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy a relaxing massage. All kinds of delicacies can be served in the hotel's restaurant (with tables outdoors) and bistro, with specialties for vegetarians and diabetics, too. The hotel bar has a large selection of drinks for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Parkside Hotel to your Saves list