We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the craziness of Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added House of Waine to your Saves list
House of Waine
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oasis in the craziness of Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

We've stayed in all the key places now in Karen between safaris and other trips, and this one tops them all. Beautiful place, peaceful, private and what a lovely garden! We felt very well taken care of and loved the experience. I'll echo the comments about the bed being too hard, but I requested an extra duvet to be placed on top of the mattress & it did the trick. I had 2 hectic days of business meetings in Nairobi traffic and pollution, and having the House of Waine to come back to after the craziness was such a welcome relief. We will be back. We even had a crisis where we could not get back to the hotel as planned in the Friday traffic crush between connecting flights, and they brought our bags to us at the hotel near the airport where we crashed instead. Great service and very much appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    30
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
41
79
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed here for one night on our way from Rwanda to safari in Kenya. We had red mixed reviews on the hotel but people we met in Rwanda gave a positive review so we were hopeful. The only downside was the trip from the airport which took nearly 3 hours to do a 45 minute trip. The hotel was is beautiful grounds, the rooms were large and beautifully decorated, the staff friendly and professional. The food and service in the hotel restaurant was excellent. It was a shame we only had one night at the hotel, I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone staying in Nairobi

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Service was beyond compare. When we mentioned we'd like a romantic table for dinner, we were guided to a private dining room, floor covered in rose petals, surrounded with candles and a private fireplace to warm the moment. Now that's what I call going the extra mile...the food was excellent, one of the best soups of our trip. Beef dish was creative and perfectly cooked. Wines were fantastic. Actually their house red (a spanish blend) would drink with some of the big boys. Rooms was large and well appointed (also rose petals when we returned from dinner). only negative comment was the bed was too hard for an extended stay. Thanks House of Waine, a memorable experience. Asante Sana

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed in the House of Waine at the beginning and at the end of our 2 week Safari. Both times we were fortunate enough to stay at the Malaika suite (which is an amazing room with a huge 30 sq meter terrace). The complimentary snack mini-bar is also a nice touch/ The house has a quiet, relaxed colonial feel and is a perfect place to simply chill out and relax before and most importantly after the safari. We found the staff extremely friendly and the food was spectacular. The heated pool and free high speed wi-fi are the great amenities (we couldn't get internet to work anywhere else in Kenya/Tanzania). It's also only a few minuted from the Karen Blixen museum and the Giraffe Centre (which sadly we did not get a chance to visit on this trip). Would definitely stay here again when we return to Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed at the House of Waine, Nairobi, Kenya by accident. Virgin Atlantic failed to land at Nairobi as planned for reasons that can only be explained by its pilot. After spending a long, dispiriting day at Mombassa airport in transit (where we ended up after a night flight from Heathrow), and missing the first night of our safari, we needed some comfort. On getting back to Nairobi under our own steam with Fly 540 (Kenyan pilots seem fearless where cloud cover is concerned) we stayed at the House of Waine for one night before finally getting off to Mount Kenya at 8am the following day.

The hotel is in a lovely setting in Karen and is handy for Wilson airstrip for the safarilink planes. It was quiet when we visited. Rooms are very comfortable, and we found the setting to be suitably zen after a trying day. Dinner was delicious and very good value. We slept very well, and received our wake up call as requested. When we next visit Nairobi we would definitely consider staying here rather than in the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We stayed at House of Waine before and after our Safari in the Masai Mara. We arrived exhausted, following a 30-hour journey from Sydney, Australia, and couldn't have found a more perfect place. We had the Manyatta Room, decorated in Masai colours, which had a small balcony and a huge comfy bed. We were greeted with a fruit cocktail and after a quick shower took advantage of a few reviving laps in the heated pool.
We sat outside for a relaxing beer and then got changed for dinner. The menu changes daily and there are good meat, fish and vegetarian options every day. The staff are delightful - warm, friendly and incredibly helpful.
The last thing I wanted to do was check my emails but my partner did (sigh) and they brought a laptop up to our room.
The hotel is quiet, with only 11 rooms, and we were grateful for that as we were so tired we could barely converse with each other. We slept incredibly well and woke up next day completely restored.
On our final night we were given the honeymoon suite. I can honestly say it is the nicest room I've ever been given anywhere in any hotel in the world. It had a huge balcony and was light, bright and spacious. I was feeling a bit depressed at having finished my Safari but my spirits were raised no end.
House of Waine is in a really convenient spot in Karen. It's a quiet, wealthy, pretty area of Nairobi and you're only five minutes from the Karen Blixen museum and not far from nature trails, the elephant orphanage and the giraffe centre.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

After having read all those raving reviews of the House of Waine, we wondered whether we had gone to the wrong place. The traffic was so congested it took us almost an hour to get there from the airport. The rooms were damp and musty. If you like dated furniture then you would think it is quaint. The shower kept switching from scalding hot to cold. Dinner was a disaster, the steaks were not fresh and we couldn't eat them. What a relief that we only stayed one night. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Waine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.