We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of Waine
Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
North Sydney, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We stayed at House of Waine before and after our Safari in the Masai Mara. We arrived exhausted, following a 30-hour journey from Sydney, Australia, and couldn't have found a more perfect place. We had the Manyatta Room, decorated in Masai colours, which had a small balcony and a huge comfy bed. We were greeted with a fruit cocktail and after a quick shower took advantage of a few reviving laps in the heated pool.
We sat outside for a relaxing beer and then got changed for dinner. The menu changes daily and there are good meat, fish and vegetarian options every day. The staff are delightful - warm, friendly and incredibly helpful.
The last thing I wanted to do was check my emails but my partner did (sigh) and they brought a laptop up to our room.
The hotel is quiet, with only 11 rooms, and we were grateful for that as we were so tired we could barely converse with each other. We slept incredibly well and woke up next day completely restored.
On our final night we were given the honeymoon suite. I can honestly say it is the nicest room I've ever been given anywhere in any hotel in the world. It had a huge balcony and was light, bright and spacious. I was feeling a bit depressed at having finished my Safari but my spirits were raised no end.
House of Waine is in a really convenient spot in Karen. It's a quiet, wealthy, pretty area of Nairobi and you're only five minutes from the Karen Blixen museum and not far from nature trails, the elephant orphanage and the giraffe centre.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    22
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
60
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

After having read all those raving reviews of the House of Waine, we wondered whether we had gone to the wrong place. The traffic was so congested it took us almost an hour to get there from the airport. The rooms were damp and musty. If you like dated furniture then you would think it is quaint. The shower kept switching from scalding hot to cold. Dinner was a disaster, the steaks were not fresh and we couldn't eat them. What a relief that we only stayed one night. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Stayed three nights just after Easter in a ground floor room, Bustani, with French windows opening onto the garden. The room was spacious and comfortable although the shower didn’t produce enough hot water for two even though there was plenty coming out of the bath taps – that and a light bulb being out in the bedroom which wasn’t fixed were the only two things wrong, otherwise it was a lovely place and the staff really friendly. We were virtually the only people staying – there was another family one dinner time, otherwise not a soul, so we were very well looked after but I’m sure it’s the same even when they are busy. The gardens are beautiful and there’s a little pavilion by the pool where you can sit and listen to the birdsong (there was piped music but we asked them to switch it off), have a cup of tea and admire the flowers. It was really easy to organise a taxi to take us to the nearby Karen Blixen museum and a trip to have a look at central Nairobi. The food was delicious – lots of fresh fruit and fabulous homemade bread and there was a choice of wines with dinner. It wouldn’t suit you if you wanted more of a buzz, but it was a thoroughly relaxing place for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

This hotel is quite grand, and feels like something from the colonial era.

We found it very quiet - in fact, almost too quiet. Having two separate stays during Feb/March we barely saw another guest and both times had the lounge, bar, swimming pool and resturant all to ourselves. Some people will no doubt enjoy this, but we found it a little unnerving.

In parts, the 'colonial style' has lapsed into 'out dated' - especially the resturant, which is fairly dim desperately needs uplifting.

The beds are also very hard and (as I see other posters have noted) the shower was unreliable - which is not want you want at 4am when rising for an early flight.

The small safe amused me. After looking it, I found that it was not bolted in, and I could simply pick it up and easily walk away with it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

If you can afford it, you won't be disappointed. I went with a group and didn't know I was affording it. What a most pleasant and astonishing surprise!

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

keep out of the city centre if you are connecting flights - and this is the place to stay - bit pricy but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bensville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

This was our santuary for 2 days before we started our safari. This place was perfect. We had spent 23 hours in transit and arrived at approx.9 pm. The staff was there to greet us and welcome us. They upgraded us to the suite which was superb. We were the only couple staying there and we had the whole place to ourselves. It felt very indulgent and we loved it.
the food was great, the help was great and we were treated like royalty.
We did a day trip around Nairobi which was excellent, with our tour manager Gibson.
It was just what we wanted and needed after our long flight and prepared us perfectly for the best safari you could imagine.
An amazing hotel in which i would have no hesitation in recommending. Very romantic and chic. We loved it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
House Of Waine Hotel
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel
Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Waine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added House of Waine to your Saves list