We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to relax before returning home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added House of Waine to your Saves list
House of Waine
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A perfect place to relax before returning home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This must be a piece of heaven in Nairobi. We were upgraded to the suite, and wow, what a stunning room, very large and comfortable with a superb balcony. The hotel also has a large swimming pool and beautiful gardens. It is located in a quiet and pretty area of Nairobi with easy access to local attractions. The restaurant is super with good wines to accompany the excellent food.
We have no hesitation in recommending this quality hotel, the place is spotless and comfortable and the staff friendly, I cannot imagine anyone will ever have a bad experience here. Visit and enjoy!!

Room Tip: I am sure all of the rooms are excellent, the suite is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We were honored to host you at House Of Waine and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your very kind feedback, we happily note that you enjoyed your meals and wines with us, the beautiful gardens, service and also found time to enjoy some of the numerous attractions nearby.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    30
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
83
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We ended our safari vacation at the House of Waine. It was an unexpected stop for us but provided a nice break before heading home. The staff is incredibly gracious and went out of their way to make us comfortable. For example our departing flight was schedule to leave very late in the day, and the manager gave us the only available room to relax in until we left for the airport. The food was very good and fresh. There are only 11 rooms, and they are all decorated in a different theme. The size of both the rooms and bathrooms are very generous. Tea, coffee, and water is provided in each room as well as cookies. The pool provided a welcome distraction. We felt very secure and relaxed during our stay.

Room Tip: I would ask from a room upstairs and with a view towards the pool and garden. The downstairs rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the end of your Safari vacation, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that we made your stay comfortable.

We are glad we could assist on your day of departure and highly appreciate your kind feedback.

We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for just one night in July. The Room was Huge & perfect with the exception of a small fault on the shower head which sprayed water everywhere other than that couldn't fault it. If I went back to Nairobi would stay here without a doubt. Friendly staff and nice Breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for the Malaika Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
It was a pleasure hosting you, we are glad you found our staff friendly and enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind feedback which we have taken to consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We loved the House of Waine. The rooms, meals and service were all impeccable. A perfect beginning to our safari. Fantastic location for visiting Daphe Sheldrick Trust as well as Giraffe Center and Karen Blixen house. We would stay here again. With mounting security concerns in Kenya - especially on the coast and in Nairobi, the House of Waine feels like a safe haven. The property is lovely and peaceful. We enjoyed our Swahili lessons during breakfast. Thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your way to Safari, we are happy you found our meals and service impeccable, enjoyed your Swahili lessons and also found time to enjoy the various attractions nearby.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed 1 night in the House of Waine during our Kenya Honeymoon Travel and we loved this small, personal house with the lovely people, beautiful environment, tasteful, romantical rooms and absolute calmness.

We liked everything about this hotel and can recommend it with all our heart!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
It was a pleasure hosting you on your honeymoon, thank you for choosing House of Waine.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Thank you.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Tired and waiting a few days for our flight, we relaxed in the comforts of the House of Waine. We enjoyed the warm and accommodating service and the comfortable accommodations. The atmosphere is very quiet.

Located in the upscale suburb of Karen, we felt secure but a little isolated. The Karen Blixen museum and the Giraffe Center are close by as well as some of Nairobi's best restaurants.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us, we are happy you found our services warm and accommodating, and our rooms comfortable.

We hope you had a good rest before your flight and we have taken note of your feedback, which we highly appreciate.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.

Thank you.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

As we know, Nairobi is a dangerous place. I booked House of Waine because it is outside of the city. It is a romantic, relaxing, oasis with a very short drive to the Karen Blixen House, Giraffe center, and Sheldrick Elephant orphanage. The bedrooms and bathrooms were amazingly clean, and they even put hot water bottles in your bed each night to keep your feet warm. This place is a perfect beginning or end to a safari as well as just a great vacation spot. I enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind feedback.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found time to enjoy the various attractions nearby.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Thank you.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
8.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
8.0 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
8.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bidwood Suite Hotel
Bidwood Suite Hotel
#6 of 129 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Waine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.