We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added House of Waine to your Saves list
House of Waine
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Bucks
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We arrived late in the evening but the staff ,including the chef had stayed to welcome us and prepare food.

It's a beautiful boutique hotel with 11 rooms in lovely grounds, with a swimming pool and located in Karen a suburb of Nairobi close to all the attractions like the Giraffe and Elephant sanctuaries and the Karen Blixan museum.

We were celebrating our 25th Wedding anniversary and we were so surprised to be given a suite which was beautifully decorated with rose petal hearts,roses and a bottle of bubbles fantastic!

The food was delicious and the staff always so polite,friendly and thoughtful. I would definitely recommend The House of Waine it's a very special place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We were honored to host you at House of Waine on your 25th anniversary and are happy that you had a special time and enjoyed our services and meals.

Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to hosting you again in future.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    30
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
76
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I, along with our two teenage sons, stayed at House of Waine for 2 nights in January. We could not have made a better choice in terms of location as it is so close to all the attractions that Karen has to offer. The accommodation was beautiful and spacious. It felt like an oasis after the hustle and bustle of the Nairobi streets. The grounds are incredibly peaceful and we enjoyed relaxing near the pool in the afternoons. The ambience, with a fire burning in the evening, the smiles on the staffs faces, etc.. made our stay incredibly relaxing and enjoyable. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing House of Waine, it was a pleasure hosting you and your family, we are glad you enjoyed your two nights stay with us.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Nairobi.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I wish we had stayed with House of Waine for a few more days. We had a hectic schedule and it was always nice to arrive back to the oasis of relaxation away from hustle & bustle of Nairobi. Despite an annoying incident with a taxi driver referred by the hotel, our needs were met expeditiously and in a friendly manner. The food was delicious and menu choices innovative. The bartenders and wait staff were very patient and helpful in offering beverage options and we were also very grateful to Dennis at the front desk who helped in shipping an item with DHL.

Room Tip: The hotel is very quiet so travelling with very young children might be a challenge. However, reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Albert,

It was a pleasure hosting you and your family at House of Waine and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind feedback, we all appreciate it and also take note of the inconvenience caused by the taxi transfer.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at the House of Waine this past January.
The House of Waine is located in Karen, a residential suburb of Nairobi.
Our flight from London didn't arrive in Nairobi until 9:50PM and it was after 11:00PM before we arrived at the House of Waine. The staff, including cooks, were waiting for us and prepared a late night snack before we turned in. I knew we where at the perfect place!
The House of Waine is everything that you would expect. Clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff was attentive and ready to serve. All in all, a "Perfect" experience.

Room Tip: Nairobi was our last stop before starting a three week safari. They put us in the Safari Room... m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing House of Waine, we are glad you had a great experience with us.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Nairobi.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taradale, Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We only stayed here one night in September 2013 before we embarked on our trip to the Masai Mara. Hotel was impeccable. Grounds were well groomed and staff were fantastic. We were welcomed to the House of Waine and felt at home. Rooms were spacious, well appointed and we had a lovely view over the grounds. We wished we had had at least two nights here to recover from arriving in Nairobi.

We had a wonderful meal at the restaurant as well as pre-dinner drinks by the fire. All in all this is a very special place and we would stay here again. Would recommend this Hotel to anyone. Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a wonderful safari.

We look forward to hosting you again, hopefully for 02 or more nights.

Thank you.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

What a wonderful small, professionally run hotel. Thank you House of Waine management and staff for looking after me so well. Nothing here is to much trouble for this team. My room, Manyatta was perfect, it has everything a girl needed, mirrors and light all in the right places for hair and makeup! I have no problem in recommending this hotel and I will return on my next business trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Joanne,

It was indeed a pleasure for us to host you at House of Waine and are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind feedback which is very encouranging to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The House of Waine is a beautiful, small, friendly hotel I was recommended to - and am happy to recommend to others. The staff were friendly and completely accommodating, nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: The Bustani is large and light, on the ground floor with direct access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
It was a pleasure hosting you at House of Waine and we are glad you had a wonderful time.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Nairobi.

Thank you for your kind feedback.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Waine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.