We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“..Wonderful hotel, lovely service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added House of Waine to your Saves list
House of Waine
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
southern california
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“..Wonderful hotel, lovely service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

We stayed at the House of Waine before our safari and the day that we returned from our safari. We had 6 rooms. We had wonderful service. Nice clean rooms, comfortable beds with crisp white sheets. Hot showers with nice shower amenities. Food is very good, We had breakfast, lunch and dinner there. Good internet service which was nice to catch up on our return from 2 weeks on safari. Good tv, ditto from before. Beautiful pool and pool area. Close to 2 good interesting shopping spots easily reached by taxi. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return.

  • Liked — Friendly, professional service. Comfortable rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    30
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
82
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bognor regis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

A Wonderful Hotel in Karen some 15 minutes drive from Jomo Kenyatta Airport.
The hotel is colonial style.
We stayed in the Saraha Room , it was large comfortable and the beds so inviting after a long flight.
The food was top class as were all the staff we encountered. A very warm welcome.The gardens and swimming pool were beautiful.
This is an ideal luxury stopover we used to recover from our long flight before our safari and again on the return leg.
In an ideal spot for a visit to The Giraffe Reserve and Elephant Orphanage.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

House of Waine is in a beautiful location, with a pristine pool and gardens, an oasis for relaxing after a long flight or safari. You couldn't ask for a more pleasant, hospitable staff, who did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. At the beginning of our trip, we stayed in the Safari room, before setting out on our journey, and on returning they had us in the Manyatta room (manyatta is Maasai for 'home') - a thoughtful touch.
Rooms are impeccable and individually styled, but all have every convenience. Restaurant is first class, with delicious food.
We stayed just after the recent unrest, so business was quiet, and we sincerely hope things will pick up as tourists return to this fabulous country. I hope to return before too long.

  • Liked — Attractive, peaceful, great service, and authentic upscale African decor throughout
  • Disliked — Electricity occasionally gave out (not their fault, no doubt)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

Perfect all around: food, rooms, service, etc. Very well maintained property, close to Wilson airport, Nairobi park etc. Easy to get to International airport, avoiding the City centre. Very safe area (Karen) and well guarded. Free internet in the room.

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
8.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
8.0 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#11 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
8.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bidwood Suite Hotel
Bidwood Suite Hotel
#5 of 129 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Waine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.