We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added House of Waine to your Saves list
House of Waine
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at the House of Waine this past January.
The House of Waine is located in Karen, a residential suburb of Nairobi.
Our flight from London didn't arrive in Nairobi until 9:50PM and it was after 11:00PM before we arrived at the House of Waine. The staff, including cooks, were waiting for us and prepared a late night snack before we turned in. I knew we where at the perfect place!
The House of Waine is everything that you would expect. Clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff was attentive and ready to serve. All in all, a "Perfect" experience.

Room Tip: Nairobi was our last stop before starting a three week safari. They put us in the Safari Room... m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing House of Waine, we are glad you had a great experience with us.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Nairobi.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    30
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
83
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taradale, Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We only stayed here one night in September 2013 before we embarked on our trip to the Masai Mara. Hotel was impeccable. Grounds were well groomed and staff were fantastic. We were welcomed to the House of Waine and felt at home. Rooms were spacious, well appointed and we had a lovely view over the grounds. We wished we had had at least two nights here to recover from arriving in Nairobi.

We had a wonderful meal at the restaurant as well as pre-dinner drinks by the fire. All in all this is a very special place and we would stay here again. Would recommend this Hotel to anyone. Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a wonderful safari.

We look forward to hosting you again, hopefully for 02 or more nights.

Thank you.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

What a wonderful small, professionally run hotel. Thank you House of Waine management and staff for looking after me so well. Nothing here is to much trouble for this team. My room, Manyatta was perfect, it has everything a girl needed, mirrors and light all in the right places for hair and makeup! I have no problem in recommending this hotel and I will return on my next business trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Joanne,

It was indeed a pleasure for us to host you at House of Waine and are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind feedback which is very encouranging to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The House of Waine is a beautiful, small, friendly hotel I was recommended to - and am happy to recommend to others. The staff were friendly and completely accommodating, nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: The Bustani is large and light, on the ground floor with direct access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
It was a pleasure hosting you at House of Waine and we are glad you had a wonderful time.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Nairobi.

Thank you for your kind feedback.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was my second stay at House of Waine and just like the first, it did not disappoint. The quaint inn is comfortable, the grounds are beautiful, and the staff is friendly and attentive. House of Waine is truly a luxurious inn and the perfect start to any luxury safari.

Room Tip: I've stayed on both sides of the inn, and I prefer the rooms overlooking the back yard/pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again, we appreciate your support and kind feedback.

We are happy you had a comfortable stay with us and look foward to hosting you again on your next trip to Nairobi.

Thank you.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My first trip to Africa and I now understand the seduction!! The House of Waine is sublime! The staff were extraordinary,the house itself is full of class,food divine,a simply wonderful experience! Quite a distance from the chaos of Nairobi and the airport,so quiet and close to wonderful attractions such as Elephant orphanage,Giraffe centre,Karen Blixen museum,it was the perfect choice!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing House of Waine on your first trip to Africa, we were honoured to host you.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also found time to enjoy the various attractions in the area.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very friendly hotel in a quiet area in the Nairobi suburbs, close to the Giraffe Centre and not too far from Wilson. Stayed here with 2 young children and were made to feel very welcome. The gardens are beautiful and the pool area very good. Food was of very high quality - small menu which changes daily, all 6 meals we had here were excellent. The rooms are spacious and full of character. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and highly appreciate your kind feed back.
It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to hosting you again on your next stay in Nairobi.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
8.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
8.0 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
8.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bidwood Suite Hotel
Bidwood Suite Hotel
#5 of 129 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Waine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.