We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added House of Waine to your Saves list
House of Waine
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed here on business for a week. I loved my room with the four poster bed and claw foot bath. The area is lovely and close to a lot of tourist attractions. Staff were superb and very attentive. Clean and good dinners and breakfasts! Thanks Anthony and the team!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for the kind feed back.

We all look forward to hosting you again on your next stay in Nairobi.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    30
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
76
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Luxurious grounds....quiet and serene setting just outside of Nairobi in Karen. Just where you want to be to see the best of Nairobi..David Sheldricks, Karen Blixen, Kazuri Bead factory, Flip flop recycle factory...all within a few miles. Perfect stop before or after your safari. Large, spacious rooms with top of the line amenities. Staff is impeccable! Food was delicious! Felt relaxed and invigorated...Loved hearing all the nightime sounds....great start for my safari..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We happily note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found time to explore the beautiful spots around Karen.

The whole House of Waine team appreciate your kind feed back and look forward to your next stay.

Thank you.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stopped here for one night after Safari and before heading off to Zanzibar. The staff could not have made us feel more welcome and even set up a private dinner for us as we were on our honeymoon. The room was fantastic and both meals we ate there were delicious. The grounds are lovely and the hotel seemed to be in a more affluent area of Nairobi. If we are ever in need of a hotel in Nairobi again we will look nowhere else.

Thanks to all the staff for making us feel so welcome and ensuring we had a great stopover there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
It was a great pleasure to host you during your honeymoon and the whole team highly appreciates your kind feedback.

Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Nairobi.

House of Waine team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night during our stopover from the Masai Mara to the Seychelles as part of our honeymoon and we're very impressed by the hotel and grounds.

The hotel is situated in an upscale area of Nairobi with an amazing garden and pool. The restaurant was also good as we enjoyed the lunch (reasonably priced for a high end place). The service was friendly and very good and our room was amazing. We were upgraded for free to the top suite there which was massive.

All in all this is a very good boutique hotel in Nairobi and is right up there baed in Western standards as everything is in great shape and immaculately maintained. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We were honored to host you during your honeymoon and are happy you had a memorable experience with us.

Thank you for your kind remarks and we look to welcoming you again in future.


House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent one night at House of Waine as we started our safari vacation. The staff is beyond outstanding in their attention to detail. Arriving late, they insisted it was no problem to ensure we had an excellent dinner. The waiter and cook came in two hours early the next morning to make sure we had a full breakfast prior to our early bush flight. We stayed in the largest bedroom, designated as the honeymoon suite. It was so large and with ceilings to high you could have played half court basketball in it. Furnishings we exquisite. Bathroom was immense. The view of the expansive gardens excellent. But most of all, the staff is a model at attention to your comfort and meeting every request or even unspoken need.

Room Tip: See if you can book the honeymoon suite. It is the magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We are glad you chose House of Waine for your brief stay before safari and thank you for your kind comments.

We are happy to have made your stay memorable and look forward to welcoming you again.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanyuki, Kenya
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

For business but far more enjoyable if it is for pleasure, the House of Waine is a haven in what can only be described as a chaotic city. The hotel is situated in Karen, close to all the activities that one would want to enjoy during a stay in Nairobi (the Elephant Orphange, Giraffe Centre, Kazuri Beads, Matbronze, Utamuduni, Tanamabo and of the course the Talisman). Grit your teeth and suffer the traffic to reach this hotel - it is worth it! Be warned however that if you have to travel across town to for example, Westlands, Muthiaga, Parklands etc. and you are travel at peak hours you could be in for a journey from hell.

The rooms are huge and beautifully appointed with perhaps the most comfortable beds I have slept on in Africa. The bathrooms are equally spacious and come equipped with a great range of toiletries, giant fluffy towels and powerful rain showers. Exceptionally, all contents of the minibar are complimentary!

The hotel is set in wonderful gardens with a good sized swimming pool and giant gazebo area to hide (if you choose) from the sun but still enjoying the outdoors.

We enjoyed fabulous breakfasts with very generous portions. Dinner was uninspiring although some of the soups were exceptional.

The staff however are what make this establishment worthy of 5*****, extremely helpful and friendly, I cannot praise them highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing House of Waine and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate that though traveling on business, you created time to enjoy the wonderful spots in the hotel and the Karen area.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Nairobi.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the House of Waine and were lucky enough to be allocated the largest room which was fabulous. All the staff in the total were brilliant, so helpful. The food at the hotel was just perfect. In addition we visited the local attractions, the elephant orphanage, the giraffe sanctuary and the Karen Blixen museum. All fantastic. We were so pleased to be staying for 2 nights as there was so much to see in addition to enjoying the beautiful grounds of the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
It was a pleasure hosting you at House of Waine and we appreciate the great feedback. We are happy you spend two nights with us, enjoyed your stay and also took time to enjoy the lovely spots Karen has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Waine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.