We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "gem" in Nairobi's crown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added House of Waine to your Saves list
House of Waine
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 126 Hotels in Nairobi
Nanyuki, Kenya
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A "gem" in Nairobi's crown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

For business but far more enjoyable if it is for pleasure, the House of Waine is a haven in what can only be described as a chaotic city. The hotel is situated in Karen, close to all the activities that one would want to enjoy during a stay in Nairobi (the Elephant Orphange, Giraffe Centre, Kazuri Beads, Matbronze, Utamuduni, Tanamabo and of the course the Talisman). Grit your teeth and suffer the traffic to reach this hotel - it is worth it! Be warned however that if you have to travel across town to for example, Westlands, Muthiaga, Parklands etc. and you are travel at peak hours you could be in for a journey from hell.

The rooms are huge and beautifully appointed with perhaps the most comfortable beds I have slept on in Africa. The bathrooms are equally spacious and come equipped with a great range of toiletries, giant fluffy towels and powerful rain showers. Exceptionally, all contents of the minibar are complimentary!

The hotel is set in wonderful gardens with a good sized swimming pool and giant gazebo area to hide (if you choose) from the sun but still enjoying the outdoors.

We enjoyed fabulous breakfasts with very generous portions. Dinner was uninspiring although some of the soups were exceptional.

The staff however are what make this establishment worthy of 5*****, extremely helpful and friendly, I cannot praise them highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing House of Waine and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate that though traveling on business, you created time to enjoy the wonderful spots in the hotel and the Karen area.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Nairobi.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    30
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
44
81
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the House of Waine and were lucky enough to be allocated the largest room which was fabulous. All the staff in the total were brilliant, so helpful. The food at the hotel was just perfect. In addition we visited the local attractions, the elephant orphanage, the giraffe sanctuary and the Karen Blixen museum. All fantastic. We were so pleased to be staying for 2 nights as there was so much to see in addition to enjoying the beautiful grounds of the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
It was a pleasure hosting you at House of Waine and we appreciate the great feedback. We are happy you spend two nights with us, enjoyed your stay and also took time to enjoy the lovely spots Karen has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent only one night at House of Waine at the outset of our recent two week photo safari....and wish it had been longer! The property is exquisite, the rooms were lovely, our breakfast was wonderful, and the service absolutley outstanding! We hated leaving the next morning. If we travel to Nairobi again we wouldn't even consider staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your recent photo safari and the encouraging feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your brief stay and hope to host you for longer during your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

we had a long slow journey from the airport after along flight through heavy Sunday traffic, but it was very pleasant when we got there. Our room looked over the garden and was large and comfortable. There was a good sized swimming pool and we could stroll around the grounds. Dinner was indifferent but breakfast okay. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: all rooms should be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing House of Waine, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to rest after a long trip.
We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again in future.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We are just back from staying at the House of Waine for 2 nights (one each on either end of a trip to Zanzibar). In itself its an absolutely beautiful hotel and you cant believe you are that close to a major city. we've stayed elsewhwere in Nairobi and the House of Waine is simply beautiful in comparison. The gardens and pool were great for our toddler and the staff couldn't have been friendlier about accomodating her even though its clearly not a hotel aimed at parents with young kids. There was a problem with our airport transfer the first time we stayed that was out of the hotel's control and when we returned on our way home, the staff could not have been more apologetic, arranging a complimentary transfer and upgrading us to the beautiful honeymoon suite, even though we hadn't complained. There were also loads of little touches which made the stay even nicer (they didn't charge us for cartons of milk for our baby, there was fresh milk - rather than UHT awfulness - in the fridges in the rooms as well as fresh coffee all of which make the difference). I was also very touched with the way the chap delivering room service tiptoed in and delivered our sandwhiches and drinks in the pitch black in order not to disturb our sleeping daughter. They could not have been kinder.

The only criticism I would make is that in researching the hotel, most indications were that it is located about 20-30 minutes from the airport. I don't actually think the hotel's own website says this but certainly a lot of the tour companies that advertise it do. This is nonsense. Even at 5.30 am on a Saturday morning with no traffic it took a good 45 mins. However, on Friday afternoon rush hour, it took us an hour and a half and on our return journey on Saturday morning it took us nearly 2 hours and that was with frankly insane driving from our taxi driver, going the wrong way down the road, driving in the ditch on the side of the road and bribing some road work contractors to let us drive down a newly resurfaced road. Had he not done this, I have no idea how long the journey might have taken. I think on balance its worth the time travelling (even when 7 months pregnant with a wriggling toddler to entertain) but I would have preferred to have known this in advance.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room one night which is a great size and perfectly lovely but got updgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing House of Waine, it was a great pleasure hosting you and we highly appreciate the feedback.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay were able to experience our various services and facilities including the Honeymoon suite.

We eagerly await completion of the road to the Airport which we understand is scheduled for completion soon as this will highly improve access to and from the Airport.

We hope and look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
125 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Beautiful African décor in an old-world atmosphere, characterize this hotel.
The rooms are spacious and well-equipped. The setting is green and quiet. The service was very good. Wifi in the reception was fine while we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing House of Waine and we highly appreciate your kind feedback.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in August and we could not have wished for lovelier accommodation. The accommodation, meals & staff were fantastic. Arriving the morning the airport burnt down and having lost our luggage, Dennis and the team could not have been more helpful & welcoming. We would definitely recommend staying here when travellling to Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We are glad you chose to stay with us and hope you enjoyed your holiday despite the challenges faced on your arrival.
Thank you for the great feedback and we are happy our team and facilities made your stay memorable.

We look forward to hosting you again in future.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Waine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.