We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House of Waine with a Toddler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Save Saved
You added House of Waine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House of Waine
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“House of Waine with a Toddler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We are just back from staying at the House of Waine for 2 nights (one each on either end of a trip to Zanzibar). In itself its an absolutely beautiful hotel and you cant believe you are that close to a major city. we've stayed elsewhwere in Nairobi and the House of Waine is simply beautiful in comparison. The gardens and pool were great for our toddler and the staff couldn't have been friendlier about accomodating her even though its clearly not a hotel aimed at parents with young kids. There was a problem with our airport transfer the first time we stayed that was out of the hotel's control and when we returned on our way home, the staff could not have been more apologetic, arranging a complimentary transfer and upgrading us to the beautiful honeymoon suite, even though we hadn't complained. There were also loads of little touches which made the stay even nicer (they didn't charge us for cartons of milk for our baby, there was fresh milk - rather than UHT awfulness - in the fridges in the rooms as well as fresh coffee all of which make the difference). I was also very touched with the way the chap delivering room service tiptoed in and delivered our sandwhiches and drinks in the pitch black in order not to disturb our sleeping daughter. They could not have been kinder.

The only criticism I would make is that in researching the hotel, most indications were that it is located about 20-30 minutes from the airport. I don't actually think the hotel's own website says this but certainly a lot of the tour companies that advertise it do. This is nonsense. Even at 5.30 am on a Saturday morning with no traffic it took a good 45 mins. However, on Friday afternoon rush hour, it took us an hour and a half and on our return journey on Saturday morning it took us nearly 2 hours and that was with frankly insane driving from our taxi driver, going the wrong way down the road, driving in the ditch on the side of the road and bribing some road work contractors to let us drive down a newly resurfaced road. Had he not done this, I have no idea how long the journey might have taken. I think on balance its worth the time travelling (even when 7 months pregnant with a wriggling toddler to entertain) but I would have preferred to have known this in advance.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room one night which is a great size and perfectly lovely but got updgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing House of Waine, it was a great pleasure hosting you and we highly appreciate the feedback.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay were able to experience our various services and facilities including the Honeymoon suite.

We eagerly await completion of the road to the Airport which we understand is scheduled for completion soon as this will highly improve access to and from the Airport.

We hope and look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
69
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Beautiful African décor in an old-world atmosphere, characterize this hotel.
The rooms are spacious and well-equipped. The setting is green and quiet. The service was very good. Wifi in the reception was fine while we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing House of Waine and we highly appreciate your kind feedback.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in August and we could not have wished for lovelier accommodation. The accommodation, meals & staff were fantastic. Arriving the morning the airport burnt down and having lost our luggage, Dennis and the team could not have been more helpful & welcoming. We would definitely recommend staying here when travellling to Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We are glad you chose to stay with us and hope you enjoyed your holiday despite the challenges faced on your arrival.
Thank you for the great feedback and we are happy our team and facilities made your stay memorable.

We look forward to hosting you again in future.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My 14 year old daughter and I stayed here in June 2013 for our first two nights in Africa! The staff where all so lovely, and the accommodation and surrounding garden just beautiful! (Especially the beds... soo confortable!) We had two of the best steaks we've ever eaten there as well, as we were told that Kenya prides itself on it's beef!

The House of Waine is also very close to The Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage; the Giraffe Centre and the Kazuri Bead Factory and Karen Blixen's Museum and Home... all an absolute must see!!

I would like to stay there again next time we go to Nairobi.

Room Tip: We stayed in a twin room with a balcony overlooking the back garden and pool... just superb and so q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you and we are happy you felt at home in House of Waine.

We appreciate the kind feedback you have given us and look forward to welcoming you back home.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the House of Waine after our Safari this month. The staff was gracious and the rooms were very nice. The location in Karen is near some of the nice attractions in Nairobi. We were part of a big group and took up much of the hotel. Breakfast was good and the dinners that we had at the hotel were very good. All in all, I would recommend the House of Waine.

Room Tip: Each room is different. All are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We appreciate the opportunity you gave us to host your group and the encouraging feedback.

We are glad you had a wonderful stay with us after your Safari and look forward to hosting you again in future.

Thank you on behalf of the House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I can only agree with all the positive comments already written about this hotel.
Room was clean, huge with balcony overlooking pool and gardens.
Food was wonderful, we left before "breakfast time" but full blown cooked breakfast was put on for us.
Not only is the hotel amazing, the staff are fabulous and nothing is too much trouble.
Loved it....wonderful place to unwind after flight
Would go back tomorrow

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite ( not that we were on our honeymoon). - massive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We were honored to host you and are happy you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for the great feedback as we look forward to hosting you again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

i stayed here a couple of nights while visiting nairobi and it was clear that the staff are very proud of their hotel and the rooms are lovely very old fashioned going back in time to blixen era! i would stay again and take the family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We appreciate the opportunity you gave us to host you for a few nights and are glad you had a great stay.

We look forward to hosting you and your family when you are next in Nairobi.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere and Expedia so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Waine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.